Background information - His 378W - Inquisition and Witchhunt - Newman - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Encyclopedias and dictionaries

Online
Print

Gale eBooks
Overview articles from different disciplinary perspectives with bibliographies of key works. 100s of online encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Includes the International Encyclopedia of Religion, Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology, Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender, Encyclopedia of European Social History, The New Dictionary of the History of Ideas.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
These Bibliographies provide an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, expert recommendations and authoritative commentary on the best works available in the discipline covered, making them particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
Cambridge Histories Online
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. All the available volumes are grouped into broad topics for quick and easy browsing (see the list below), or the entire series can be searched using the basic or advanced search features. Specific histories consist of either one volume or a numered series and cover all major regions of the world (i.e. Cambridge History of Africa, Cambridge History of Latin America).

Enyclopedia of Renaissance Literature by Cook, James Wyatt (ed.)
ISBN: 9781438110158

Publication Date: 2006

Global Renaissance culture, writers, works and literary movements. Also in print.

Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Joseph R. Strayer (Editor);
Call Number: PCL Stacks D 114 D5 1982 V.1 - 10 LIB USE ONLY

ISBN: 0684190737

Publication Date: 1982-1988

...every aspect of medieval life in Western Europe, the Scandinavian north, the Byzantine and Slavic east, the Muslim south, and the ubiquitous world of Judaism from A.D. 500 to 1500....Explore the conditions of daily life, major and minor figures, terms and concepts, countries and provinces, and movements, monuments, people, and events.
Encyclopedia of Renaissance literature by James Wyatt Cook
Call Number: PCL stacks PN 721 C66 2006

ISBN: 816056242

Publication Date: 2006

Global Renaissance culture, writers, works and literary movements. Also online.
Lexikon des Mittelalters by ed. Robert Auty et al
Call Number: PCL Stacks D 101.5 L49 Lib Use Only

Publication Date: 1977-1999

All branches of Medieval Studies, from 300 to 1500 AD/CE for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Robert E. Bjork (Editor)
Call Number: PCL Stacks D 114 O94 2010 V.1-4 LIB USE ONLY

ISBN: 9780198662624

Publication Date: 2010

The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages is a major resource for all key aspects of European history, society, religion, and culture from 500 to 1500. Since neighbouring areas of Asia and North Africa impinged on and helped shape the civilization of the West, relevant aspects of the Byzantine Empire, the Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples ...