His 378W - Inquisition and Witchhunt - Newman

What are Primary Sources?  

Primary sources are objects produced by participants or direct observers of an event or time period. These objects may be created or recorded during the event or later on by a participant reflecting on the event. In some cases, it will be difficult to obtain the original source, so you may have to rely on copies (photocopies, microfilm, digital copies). Copies or transcriptions of a primary source are considered primary sources in most cases. Some types include:

• Speeches, transcripts of speeches
• Trials
• Government documents, Legal documents
• Public opinion polls
• Letters, correspondence, diaries, interviews, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories
• Images, photographs
• Contemporary newspaper articles
• Works of art 
• Architectural works
• Archaeological findings
  
  These words, or the word "sources" with your topic word or phrase, can be used to search Library catalogs, databases, and other tools to locate Primary Sources.  
   

Find Primary Sources

Digitized manuscripts

• The Avalon Project, Yale Law School Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy

Searchable by century or with the entire corpus, digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.

• Bibliothèque virtuelle des manuscrits médiévaux (site in French and English) (CNRS)
   digital library of medieval manuscripts from French libraries across the country excluding the French National Library.  

• British History Online

Unsubscribed content only.  A collection of nearly 1300 volumes of primary and secondary content relating to British and Irish history, and histories of empire and the British world.

• British Library Treasures in Full

Slow to load, important printed books from the Renaissance and early modern period.  Choose magnified view to help you see the details of pages. You will also find supporting material by scholar experts. 

• Connecticut State Library Witchcraft Guide
  Colonial records.
   
• Cornell University Witchcraft Collection

Over 3,000 titles documenting the history of the Inquisition and the persecution of witchcraft, primarily in Europe.

• Gallica: the BnF digital library (Parts of interface in French, English, German, and Italian)
  Scanned manuscripts from La Bibliothèque nationale de France et de ses partenaires. 
   
• Inquisitio : manuscript and print sources for the study of Inquisition History (Notre Dame Collection)
  The collection consists of several hundred items, from printed volumes to unique manuscripts and images, all bearing some relationship to the general theme of "inquisition." For the most part the documents were produced by the Spanish inquisition or its critics, though several pieces also relate to other regions.

• JISC Historical Texts

Full text digital archive enabling you to cross search, view and download over 460,000 texts published in the late C15th to the long C19th from four key collections.  Not all texts available from this platform:

Early English Books Online (EEBO) (1473-1700)

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) (1701-1800)

65,000 British Library 19th Century texts (BL) (1789-1914)

UK Medical Heritage Library (UKMHL) (1800s-1900s)
 

• Portal de Archivos Españoles (PARES) (in Spanish)
   

• Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913
  London’s Central Criminal Court proceedings.

• Vatican Library, digitized
  Slow to load.  Approximately 30% of their extensive collection according to some sources.
   

Books, ebooks

• Chuchiak, John F. The Inquisition in New Spain, 1536-1820 : a Documentary History / Edited and Translated by John F. Chuchiak IV. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2012. Print only.
   

• Homza, Lu Ann. The Spanish Inquisition, 1478-1614 An Anthology of Sources / Edited and Translated by Lu Ann Homza. Indianapolis: Hackett Publishing Company, Inc., 2006.
   

• Kagan, Richard L., and Abigail. Dyer. Inquisitorial Inquiries : Brief Lives of Secret Jews and Other Heretics / Edited and Translated by Richard L. Kagan and Abigail Dyer. Baltimore: The Johns Hopkins University Press, 2004.
   

• Levack, Brian P. The Witchcraft Sourcebook /  2nd ed. London: Routledge, 2014.
   

• Ogden, Daniel. Magic, Witchcraft, and Ghosts in the Greek and Roman Worlds A Sourcebook. Oxford: Oxford University Press, USA, 2002.
   

• Peters, Edward. Heresy and Authority in Medieval Europe : Documents in Translation / Edited, with an Introduction, by Edward Peters. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1980.
   

• Wakefield, Walter L., and Austin P. Evans. Heresies of the High Middle Ages : Selected Sources.  Translated and Annotated by Walter L. Wakefield and Austin P. Evans. New York: Columbia University Press, 1991.
   

• Witch-hunting in seventeenth-century New England: a documentary history
  Ebook on order.  Print available.  

Online Sources of Medieval texts in translation
 

• Global Medieval Sourcebook (Stanford University)

• Internet Medieval Sourcebook (Fordham University)

•  A Guide to the Primary Sources of the Salem Witchcraft Trials
  Includes links to the handwritten records in PDF

• Handlist of Online Medieval Sources in Recent English Translation (Yvonne Seale, SUNY Geneseo)
  Links to various sources in translation.

• Survey of Scottish Witchcraft Database
  Searchable links to nearly 4,000 records of accused witches, and documentation of witchcraft belief

• German History in Documents and Images, from the Reformation to the Thirty Years War

• Wikipedia’s list of English Translations from Medieval Sources 
  Extensive list from various sources.