Single articles on a topic are found in our library databases. The UT Libraries pay to have access to these databases and the articles they contain.
You can search in databases that are multidisciplinary or subject-specific:
| Type of Database | About | Start Here |
|
Multidisciplinary |
|
|
|
Subject-specific |
|
Databases List (use the "All Subjects" dropdown menu) Guides List (choose a subject) |
If you are looking for a specific type of information, other than scholarly articles (ex. historical newspapers, audiovisual, etc.) you can also look at databases by type of information they contain by using the "all database types" dropdown menu.
Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Unlimited users.
Updated annually. Provides full text access to all volumes published by Annual Reviews. Covers topics in biomedical, physical and social sciences.
Unlimited users.
Updated bi-monthly. Covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present, and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Contains references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered.
Unlimited users.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides access to the full text of journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries and other publishers whose online journals are hosted by ScienceDirect.
Books: Selected titles from Elsevier and its subsidiaries are included. These books are DRM-free with unlimited users and PDF chapter downloads/printing.
Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
User restrictions vary by book.
Provides access to select books. You may also need an EBSCO account which is free.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Searches complete text of books from selected library collections and publishers. Search works just like a regular Google search -- when book content contains a match for selected search terms, Google provides links to it in the search results. Depending on a few factors, Google displays everything from a few short excerpts to the entire book.
Each book includes an "About this book" page with basic bibliographic data like title, author, publication date, length and subject. For some books, additional information like key terms and phrases, references to the book from scholarly publications or other books, chapter titles and a list of related books.
Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to journals and selected books published by Springer.
Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to journals and books published by John Wiley & Sons.
Books: Selected titles are available. May be read online, printed, and saved as PDFs. Unlimited users may access each book.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
This video, from RMIT University, explains what is a database.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.
