Museum Studies

Unlimited users.

Updated regularly. Comprised of over 2.5 million digital images of visual material encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures. Focuses on, but is not limited to, the arts. Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture. Designed to be used by researchers in fields that do not traditionally use images as well as by art historians.

In order to take advantage of all the features of the site, you must register or log in with the service. The registration and login links are visible once you enter the database.

Unlimited users.

Over 16,000 sound effects are made available by the BBC in WAV format to download for use under the terms of the RemArc License. The sound effects are BBC copyright, but they may be used for personal, educational or research purposes, as detailed in the license.

Unlimited users.

Online collection brings together audio recordings from field expeditions around the world, particularly from the 1960s through the 1980s. It consists primarily of field recordings, along with selections of contextualizing field notes, photographs, and film. At completion, it will contain over 2,000 hours of audio field recordings, as well as 10,000 pages of text, 5,000 photographs, and 200 hours of field film footage.

Unlimited users.

Ethnographic film, documentaries, and shorts made by and for Indigenous peoples and communities. Emphasis is on the human effects of climate change, sustainability, indigenous and local ways of interpreting history, cultural change, and traditional knowledge and storytelling. Local material covered includes Australia, New Zealand, Papua Niu Gini (also known as Papua New Guinea), Solomon Islands and other regions. Content has been sourced from several collections including National Film & Sound Archive of Australia, SBS, Mexican Film Board, and National Film Board of Canada.

Unlimited users.

Collection brings together award-winning titles from contemporary ethnographic film festivals. It also includes field recordings and edited films by students and faculty from universities and institutions around the world, including Berkeley Media and Manchester’s Granada Centre for Visual Anthropology.

Unlimited users.

A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. Features cross-searchable access to the acclaimed Ethnographic Video Online and Anthropology Online collections and provides anthropologists, sociologists and cultural historians with an expansive and multifaceted survey of the discipline. Researchers can explore a wide range of materials—from documentaries and field notes to written ethnographies and reference works.

Thematic areas include: family and race, material culture, language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, marriage, gender, and family roles.

Unlimited users.

Provides a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. Includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. Also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies. Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings.