LibGuides: TC 302: Visionary Women / Beck: Criticism and Analysis of a poet's work

What scholars say about your author's work

Literary Criticism is the evaluation, analysis and interpretation of works by scholars. It is published in journals devoted to the study of literature. These scholars typically work at universities in addition to researching and publishing.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searches the full text of articles - sometimes a plus, sometimes a minus.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Literature Online is a fully searchable library of over 350,000 full-text works of English and American literature. Includes several literary databases of poetry, plays and fiction as well as general reference works and links to other Internet sites. Coverage of literary criticism includes access to the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920-present (from the Modern Humanities Research Association) and 383 Full-Text Journals (from Literature Online/ProQuest).
MLA International Bibliography
1926 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
For help searching the MLA International Bibliography, please see the MLA's video tutorials.

Books.

Books
Search here for print and ebooks. Use the bibliographies in these books to find more sources.

Advanced searching

Divide your topic in a multi line search.
- One line should be devoted to your main idea, such as 'Emily Bronte'
- Your second line should be devoted to a narrowing aspect: something you want to investigate. In this case, issues of money and class.
- Do you have other narrowing aspects to investigate? Add a line
While I am asking for the database to search all of the terms in the second line, I am dividing them with the word OR. This means at least one of the terms needs to be in my results, but not all. Makes for a more flexible search.
Anytime I include an asterisk in a word, the database will look for alternate spellings or endings (wealth* = wealth, wealthy, wealthier/est)
Many databases allow you to limit on your results page by date, by peer review status, by resource type and more.

Search "everything"

Yes, pretty much everything.

https://www.lib.utexas.edu/