LibGuides: RHE 309S: Critical Reading and Persuasive Writing / Sahinler: Find viewpoints

Explore viewpoints

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
1980 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to differing points of view on current social issues. Brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles, as well as links to more than 1,800 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.
OpinionArchives This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
OpinionArchives includes the searchable full text of:
- The American Spectator (1967-current)
- Commonweal (1924-current)
- Harper's (1850-current)
- LaFollettes (1919-1929)
- The Nation (1865-current)
- The New Leader (1924-current)
- The New Republic (1914-current)
- The New Yorker (1925-current)
- The Progressive (1909-current)
- The Weekly Standard (1995-current)

(open in new tab to view larger) How to access articles in Opinionarchives (click on the Resource, not the article title):

Click on a title and choose a database to search the full text of that magazine for your topic.

Note: This is a partial list of popular magazines. Other publications not included on this list may have a strong political viewpoint or bias.

There isn't a way to limit to op-eds or reporting after your search, nor can you do an advanced search, but this search is still worth a try.