The longstanding series of Cambridge Companions provides robust scholarly overview on authors, literary movements, and genres. Reviewing a Cambridge Companion at the start of your research will make the process easier, as you will be introduced to key concepts and learn who the important scholars are for your topic.
Note that the selections below relate to the authors and texts you are studying in this class. Links go to the ebook version when available. Most of these ebooks are duplicated in print, available at the PCL.
The Cambridge Companion to Spenser
by
The Cambridge Companion to Spenser provides an introduction to Spenser that is at once accessible and rigorous. Fourteen specially commissioned essays by leading scholars bring together the best recent writing on the work of the most important non-dramatic Renaissance poet. The contributions provide all the essential information required to appreciate and understand Spenser's rewarding and challenging work. The Companion guides the reader through Spenser's poetry and prose, and provides extensive commentary on his life, the historical and religious context in which he wrote, his wide reading in Classical, European and English poetry, his sexual politics and use of language. Emphasis is placed on Spenser's relationship to his native England, and to Ireland - where he lived for most of his adult life - as well as the myriad of intellectual contexts which inform his writing. A chronology and further reading lists make this volume indispensable for any student of Spenser.
The New Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare
by
Written by a team of leading international scholars, this Companion is designed to illuminate Shakespeare's works through discussion of the key topics of Shakespeare studies. Twenty-one essays provide lively and authoritative approaches to recent scholarship and criticism for readers keen to expand their knowledge and appreciation of Shakespeare. The book contains stimulating chapters on traditional topics such as Shakespeare's biography and the transmission of his texts. Individual readings of the plays are given in the context of genre as well as through the cultural and historical perspectives of race, sexuality and gender, and politics and religion. Essays on performance survey the latest digital media as well as stage and film. Throughout the volume, contributors discuss Shakespeare in a global as well as a national context, a dramatist with a long and constantly mutating history of reception and performance.
The Cambridge Companion to the Sonnet
by
Beginning with the early masters of the sonnet form, Dante and Petrarch, the Companion examines the reinvention of the sonnet across times and cultures, from Europe to America. In doing so, it considers sonnets as diverse as those by William Shakespeare, William Wordsworth, George Herbert and e. e. cummings. The chapters explore how we think of the sonnet as a 'lyric' and what is involved in actually trying to write one. The book includes a lively discussion between three distinguished contemporary poets - Paul Muldoon, Jeff Hilson and Meg Tyler - on the experience of writing a sonnet, and a chapter which traces the sonnet's diffusion across manuscript, print, screen and the internet. A fresh and authoritative overview of this major poetic form, the Companion expertly guides the reader through the sonnet's history and development into the global multimedia phenomenon it is today.
The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare's Poetry
by
This Companion provides a full introduction to the poetry of William Shakespeare through discussion of his freestanding narrative poems, the Sonnets, and his plays. Fourteen leading international scholars provide accessible and authoritative chapters on all relevant topics: from Shakespeare's seminal role in the development of English poetry, the wide-ranging practice of his poetic form, and his enigmatic place in print and manuscript culture, to his immersion in English Renaissance politics, religion, classicism, and gender dynamics. With individual chapters on Venus and Adonis, The Rape of Lucrece, The Passionate Pilgrim, 'The Phoenix and the Turtle', the Sonnets, and A Lover's Complaint, the Companion also includes chapters on the presence of poetry in the dramatic works, on the relation between poetry and performance, and on the reception and influence of the poems. The volume includes a chronology of Shakespeare's life, a note on reference works, and a reading list for each chapter.
The Cambridge Companion to Ovid
by
Ovid was one of the greatest writers of classical antiquity, and arguably the single most influential ancient poet for post-classical literature and culture. In this Cambridge Companion, chapters by leading authorities from Europe and North America discuss the backgrounds and contexts for Ovid, the individual works, and his influence on later literature and art. Coverage of essential information is combined with exciting critical approaches. This Companion is designed both as an accessible handbook for the general reader who wishes to learn about Ovid, and as a series of stimulating essays for students of Latin poetry and of the classical tradition.
The Cambridge Companion to John Donne
by
The Cambridge Companion to John Donne introduces students (undergraduate and graduate) to the range, brilliance, and complexity of John Donne. Sixteen essays, written by an international array of leading scholars and critics, cover Donne's poetry (erotic, satirical, devotional) and his prose (including his Sermons and occasional letters). Providing readings of his texts and also fully situating them in the historical and cultural context of early modern England, these essays offer the most up-to-date scholarship and introduce students to the current thinking and debates about Donne, while providing tools for students to read Donne with greater understanding and enjoyment. Special features include a chronology; a short biography; essays on political and religious contexts; an essay on the experience of reading his lyrics; a meditation on Donne by the contemporary novelist A. S. Byatt; and an extensive bibliography of editions and criticism.
Unlimited users.
Provides access to Cambridge Books.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Unlimited users.
Access to EEBO's Text Creation Partnership is now available.
Aims to provide the total surviving print record of the English speaking world for 227 years (1473-1700). It is the digital version of the popular Early English Books I, Early English Books II, Thomason Tracts, and Early English Books Tract Supplements microfilm collections. The project aims to reproduce all items produced by a printing press (such as books, pamphlets, broadsides) in England and its colonies and any item that was printed anywhere in the world in English between 1473 and 1700.
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Unlimited users.
Provides access to Cambridge Books.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
User restrictions vary by book.
Provides access to select books. You may also need an EBSCO account which is free.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
User restrictions vary by book.
Provides access to select books. Users need to login via EID in order to use Ebook Central even if they are on campus.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. A digital collection of over 5,000 full-text titles offered by the ACLS (The American Council of Learned Societies) in collaboration with twenty learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan’s Scholarly Publishing Office. A fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars and featuring unlimited multi-user access and free, downloadable MARC records.
Unlimited users.
Click the "Log In" button and choose "University of Texas at Austin" from the drop-down menu. Select "continue" and then enter your EID and password when prompted.
HathiTrust is a large digital library bringing together materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, libraries at HathiTrust partner institutions, and other commercial digitization projects. Search more than 11 million volumes with more than a third of these available for full text access and download (primarily books and journals published before 1923 and U.S. Government publications).
University of Texas students, faculty, and staff can download materials in the public domain in addition to conducting full text searches of all materials in the HathiTrust Catalog.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.