4 users.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press in America. Includes a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, such as ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, and public policy.
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Offers full text articles, from more than 180 international, and often peer reviewed, reports, proceedings, association and consumer newsletters. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990.
Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America (some international coverage). Includes more than 400,000 full-text articles from 200 publications.
Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to differing points of view on current social issues. Brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles, as well as links to more than 1,800 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.
You may benefit from searching the following:
Book Reviews: At the time of publication, and sometimes again if something is translated or re-printed, books are reviewed in magazines and newspapers and journals. Authors may be staff on a publication, another writer, or a scholar offering an opinion of a work at the time of its release.
Literary Criticism: Published in journals, criticism analyzes a work and its themes, questions, significance. Typically written by scholars, who may be professors or researchers at a university who have studied an author or a work in depth and for some time.
Q: But...they call the folks writing the reviews, critics...so, is it criticism? Is it scholarly?
A: Not typically! Take a look at this criteria:
| Review | Criticism |
| Usually written at the time a work was made | Can be written at any time, but is usually written long after the fact when other sources can be contextualized into an analysis |
| Written by a journalist or publication staff or the publication invites a guest writer to review. | Written by a scholar/academic who studies theory within the discipline |
| Plot summary, overall consideration of style, performances, direction and production | May deal with a narrow aspect of the work, such as a scene/chapter/character or creative decision made by creator |
| Critiques the work from a cultural or entertainment perspective at the time the work was made, and often in relation to the creator's body of work | Discusses the work in theoretical or historical context |
| Usually quite short (less than one page in a publication) | Long, usually 10 or more pages in a journal |
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Literature Online is a fully searchable library of over 350,000 full-text works of English and American literature. Includes several literary databases of poetry, plays and fiction as well as general reference works and links to other Internet sites. Coverage of literary criticism includes access to the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920-present (from the Modern Humanities Research Association) and 383 Full-Text Journals (from Literature Online/ProQuest).
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.