LibGuides: UGS 302: Social Movement Organization / Wright: How to find scholarly articles

Find the scholarly conversation

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
US History
Updated regularly. Contains citations with abstracts to social science and humanities literature on all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. Covers books, book reviews, journals and dissertations. Also reviews films and video projects. The database corresponds to the print America: History and Life, which is produced by ABC-CLIO. The database covers history, interdisciplinary studies of historical interest and history-related topics in the social sciences and humanities.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Covers material on the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
Updated quarterly. Contains records for all types of material on Mexican-American topics and Chicanos. Since 1992, the Chicano Database covers material on the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Scholarship and primary sources
Updated regularly. A comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with sophisticated technology permitting precise search and browse capabilities. Features over 7,500 articles from Oxford's authoritative reference works, approximately 100 primary sources with specially written commentaries, over 1,000 images, over 100 maps, over 200 charts and tables, timelines to guide researchers through the history of African Americans and over 6,000 biographies.
Some of the titles included in this access are:
- African American Artists before the Twentieth Century
- African American National Biography
- Africana
- Black Women in America, Second Edition
- Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature
- Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895
- Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present
LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window
1917 - present. Unlimited users.
This comprehensive database is the definitive index to the world's literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. LGBT Life contains indexing and abstracts for more than 250 LGBT-specific core periodicals as well as periodicals in Women’s and Gender Studies. It also contains more than 350 books and reference works.
LGBT Life provides comprehensive coverage of traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle and regional publications, including The Advocate, Lesbian News and Bay Windows. LGBT Life also provides indexing and abstracts for the full run of many historically significant titles such as ONE, The Ladder, Mattachine Review, Christopher Street and Body Politic. In addition, LGBT Life includes other source types such as monographs, reference books, newsletters, case studies and speeches. It also provides relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies.

Library 'all in one' advanced search
The search on www.lib.utexas.edu is an aggregator - it search all 800 of our databases down to the item level. Sometimes you want to put some parameters on your search, so specific topics are covered in the resources above.

How to use an advanced search (and why)

An advanced search builds into the multi-lines the intention of narrowing, of refining. Each line is a narrower aspect of your topic. You can also brainstorm alternate terms to cast a wider net. The screenshot below has a strategy that would work in any advanced search.

OR broadens your search by searching multiple related terms at once

AND narrows your search by allowing you to add lines of narrower aspects

OPEN this image in a new tab to see larger.

Note that the advanced search for our all in one tool on the main library homepage is more finicky (kinda behaves like google). Put phrases in quotation marks and capitalize your ORs.