LibGuides: RHE 309S: Success and Failure / Sahinler: Find Sources

Find Sources

Many library databases provide well organized and high selective coverage of scholarly journal articles.

Try the following databases:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
PsycINFO (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
1887 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Indexes and abstracts over 1,700 sources, including international material selected from periodicals written in over 35 languages. Contains current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present, and adds over 60,000 references annually through monthly updates. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Has over 1.8 million individual records, some dating back to 1887, and includes abstracts from Psychological Abstracts back to 1927, Psychological Bulletin from 1921-1926, and all APA journals and the American Journal of Psychology back to their first issues. Corresponds in part to the print index Psychological Abstracts.

When searching multidisciplinary databases, check for an option to limit your search to scholarly/peer-reviewed articles.
Differentiate scholarly articles from popular magazine articles, trade publications

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Opinions, editorials and viewpoint articles can be found in multidisciplinary databases, newspapers, magazines and on the web.

Try these:

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
September, 1989 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Provides news and information services of interest to faculty, administrators and students in the field of higher education. The full text of the current issue is available every Monday morning, following the Friday print publication. The current issue and the archive are both fully searchable, and the site also features an archive of more than 12 years of The Chronicle.

When searching newspaper sites and databases, check for an option to limit your search to the Opinion/Editorial section.
If there is no limiting option, try adding the word "editorial" to your search terms (See How to search Editorial or Opinion using Nexis Uni).

Scholarly articles are written by researchers or experts in a particular field. They use specialized vocabulary, have extensive citations, and are often peer-reviewed.
Popular magazine articles are typically written by journalists to entertain or inform a general audience,

Distinguishing between facts/information and viewpoints/opinions is a skill. Keep the following in mind:

A journalist observes, gathers, assesses and presents news and information. They are also called reporters. Journalists are trained to be fair and impartial - they keep their opinions out of the story.
A columnist or a critic works to persuade to convince you of a viewpoint based upon their expertise or experience.