TARO (Texas Archival Resources Online) makes descriptions of the rich archival, manuscript, and museum collections in repositories across Texas available to the public. Consider these an extended table of contents which describe unique materials only available at the individual repositories. In most cases, the collections themselves are NOT available online.
The Austin History Center provides the public with information about the history, current events, and activities of Austin and Travis County. See this research guide on a resources related to African Americans in Austin and Travis County.
This archive focuses on collecting materials related to American history, especially for Texas and the American South. The Briscoe Center's archival collections contain manuscripts, photographs, audio and visual materials in many formats, and maps. See these research guides on resources related to African Americans in Texas, especially this guide on resources relating to African American women in Texas.
Archival material digitized from the Briscoe Center showcases key themes in Texas and U.S. History, including the American South, Civil Rights and Social Justice, Political History, Music and Entertainment History, Photography and The University of Texas History (among other themes!).
The digital collections represent a portion of holdings related to academic, administrative, social, and the cultural history of Huston-Tillotson University. New materials will be added on an ongoing basis.
Black Diaspora Archive at UT Austin
The Black Diaspora Archive (BDA) is a collaborative project at UT Austin. Established in 2015 and housed at the Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection, the BDA collects documentary, audiovisual, digital, and artistic works related to the Black Diaspora of the Americas and Caribbean.
This encompasses historical publications, contemporary records, personal papers, and rare material produced by and/or about people of African descent—including scholars, professionals, community groups, activists, and artists.