LibGuides: TD 388J 1: Costume Design / Barreto: Find Images

Find Images at UT

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Comprised of over 2.5 million digital images of visual material encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures. Focuses on, but is not limited to, the arts. Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture. Designed to be used by researchers in fields that do not traditionally use images as well as by art historians.
In order to take advantage of all the features of the site, you must register or log in with the service. The registration and login links are visible once you enter the database.
DASE (Digital Archive Services) Collection This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
DASE is a web-based repository for digital images, sound, video and documents. Material on this site may be used for educational purposes by current faculty, students, and staff of the University of Texas at Austin. Use of these materials and resources is restricted by applicable license agreements and copyright law.

Ad*Access This link opens in a new window
Most current file. Unlimited users.
Presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund.
Concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University.
Art Images for College Teaching This link opens in a new window
Most current file. Unlimited users.
Emphasizing ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art and architecture. AICT is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large.
Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Birds of the World (BOW) is a research database that brings together scholarly content from four major works of ornithology: Birds of North America, The Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds, and Bird Families of the World. It also merges millions of bird observations from eBird and multimedia from the Macaulay Library into a single platform where biologists and birders can explore comprehensive life history information on birds. Includes over 10,800 species accounts with details on appearance, taxonomy, habitat, diet, breeding, behavior; 249 bird family accounts; range maps, eBird abundance maps, and animated migration maps; color illustrations of every species and many subspecies; media galleries showing the bird throughout its life cycle (photos, videos, and sound recordings from the Macaulay Library); an avian taxonomy explorer with regional filters, and more.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) contains metadata records —information describing an item —for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Each record links to the original object on the content provider’s website. The DPLA brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. The DPLA aims to expand this crucial realm of openly available materials, and make those riches more easily discovered and more widely usable and used.
Global Plants This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Global Plants is a community-contributed database featuring more than two million high resolution plant type specimen images from the collections of over 300 herbaria around the world, including specimens contributed from The University of Texas at Austin. Related materials in the database include reference works and primary sources such as collector’s correspondence and diaries, paintings, drawings and photographs. Global Plants was initially known as JSTOR Plant Science.
NOAA Photo Library This link opens in a new window
Most current file. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Includes thousands of weather and space images, hundreds of images of our shores and coastal seas, and thousands of marine species images ranging from the great whales to the most minute plankton.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. 8 users.
Updated daily. Provides Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with annual additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links.
Covers the artistic traditions of the world's leading cultures, countries, cities, towns, and regions as well as important archaeological sites, monuments, and buildings. Includes over 45,000 signed articles on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory through the present as well as over 40,000 web links to important art images in galleries and museums around the world. Both the fine arts (painting, sculpture, and architecture) and the decorative arts (ceramics, textiles, jewellery, interior design, furniture, glass, metalwork, and more) are included.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. If you see a username and password prompt, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
1892 - present. Unlimited users.
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
The Vogue Archive also features specialist indexing of full-page images from photo features. This has been newly created by Condé Nast, with expert indexers using controlled lists to apply keywords to each separate image within a document. There are separate designated fields for Fashion Item (e.g. kimono, Breton jacket, scoop neckline), Person Pictured, Company/brand, Designer Name and Material (e.g. chiffon, wool).
Web Gallery of Art This link opens in a new window
Most current file. Unlimited users.
A database of European painting and sculpture from 12th to mid-19th centuries. Images and documents downloaded from this database can only be used for educational and personal purposes.

Many images are not on the Internet, so don't forget to use the UT Library Catalog search window to find images in books on your topic. You can also try adding "illus" or "pictorial works" to your topic search terms to narrow the search to illustrated works.

UT Libraries also have scanners to make it easy to digitize and use these images in your presentations. Just remember to write down these image sources, so you can cite them later.

UT Catalog

Briscoe Center for American History Digital Collections

Texas, Southern, Congressional and U.S. History image collections.
Harry Ransom Center Digital Collections

Rich collections of materials by writers and artists. Includes images. New material and collections are added on an ongoing basis.
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection

UT Libraries huge map collection

Find Images in Text Databases

Strategies for finding images embedded in text databases can vary. For some try "More" at the navigation bar and then choose "images"; or choose the Advanced Search feature and select "Images." For JSTOR, select the "Advanced Search" feature; then under the "All fields" drop down, choose "caption" to get at images that have captions under them.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new window
1920 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides indexing for some 400 periodicals, including full text for over 200 titles, in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). CommSearch offered bibliographic and keyword references to 26 journals in communication studies, with coverage extending to the inaugural issue of each -- some from as far back 1915. It also included cover-to-cover indices of NCA's six journals (from their first editions to the present), and abstracts from their earliest appearance in NCA journals. Mass Media Articles Index provided citation coverage of over 40,000 articles related to mass media and published in over 60 research journals, as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Features searchable full text for nearly 190 journals as well as abstracts and indexing for over 200 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. Contains information on health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Also includes many health research books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Other features include thousands of essays from Clinical Reference Systems.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. 8 users.
Updated daily. Provides Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with annual additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links.
Covers the artistic traditions of the world's leading cultures, countries, cities, towns, and regions as well as important archaeological sites, monuments, and buildings. Includes over 45,000 signed articles on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory through the present as well as over 40,000 web links to important art images in galleries and museums around the world. Both the fine arts (painting, sculpture, and architecture) and the decorative arts (ceramics, textiles, jewellery, interior design, furniture, glass, metalwork, and more) are included.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. If you see a username and password prompt, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

Image Research Guide

Curious about images? What to learn more about image resources available at UT and on the web?

Check out the Image Research Guide created by Tina Tran, Visual Arts Librarian, and Sydney Kilgore, former Visual Resources Coordinator.