Skip to Main Content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

AFR 370: The Black Figure in American Art and Popular Culture / Evans

Find Images

Find Art Images

Black Art & Artists in National Gallery of Art
Explore works from Black artists across centuries, mediums, and geographies, ranging from 19th century still life painter Robert Seldon Duncanson to modern and contemporary pieces by Jacob Lawrence, Romare Bearden, Alma Thomas, Sam Gilliam, Kara Walker, Hank Willis Thomas, and more.

Compton Communicative Arts Academy Collection 
This resource contains materials in a variety of formats, including books, e-books, archived websites, exhibition catalogs, and artist files comprised of photographic reproductions of artworks and historical documentation.

Faith Ringgold
The contemporary artist’s website. 

The Fine Art Collection at Amistad Research Center 
The Amistad Research Center's (ARC) permanent art collection is one of the most historically significant bodies of work by African American artists, and spans from the 19th century through the present day.

Jacob Lawrence: The Migration Series

National Museum of African American History and Culture: Visual Arts Collection
Browse and search their collections.

Portraits of African Americans 
Highlights from the National Portrait Gallery Collection

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture - ​​Art and Artifacts Division
Based at the New York Public Library, the Center collects, documents, preserves, and interprets art and artifacts by and about peoples of African heritage throughout the world. Fine and applied art and material culture objects from the seventeenth century to the present are collected, with emphasis on the visual arts of the twentieth century in the United States and Africa. See their <a href=”https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/divisions/schomburg-center-for-research-in-black-culture-art-and-artifacts-division”>digital collections here</a>.

Smithsonian American Art Museum - African American Art
SAAM is home to one of the most significant collections of works by African American artists in the world. Browse by artworks and artists. 

Studio Museum in Harlem | Collection
The Studio Museum in Harlem’s permanent collection represents more than 700 artists, spans 200 years of history, and includes nearly 9,000 works of art. We are thrilled to be in the early stages of a long-term project to share our collection online and prompt a new era of exploration and presentation.

Works by Artists of African Descent at the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston 
Click through for a chronological survey of the collection.

ARTstor's platform, JSTOR, is retiring the ARTstor database in August 2024. All of images from DASe and ARTstor will be migrated to JSTOR. You can find out more information if you click here.

A list of some museums with notable image collections. These museums provide and extensive range of free digital images that can be used for personal, education, and non-commercial purposes. However, it's always recommended to check the specific terms on each museum's website to ensure compliance with their policies.

UT's Visual Resources Collection can be found on JSTOR. For more information about the VRC, please go to this LibGuide

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.