To find scholarly articles related to your topic, start with these core history databases. While they are not limited to Texas history, they include significant scholarship on Texas topics.
Some of these databases are focused on topics related to U.S. History and contain scholarship and secondary sources. Other databases focus on articles from history adjacent disciplines that may be helpful to explore more of your topic.
Unlimited users.
A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. Features cross-searchable access to the acclaimed Ethnographic Video Online and Anthropology Online collections and provides anthropologists, sociologists and cultural historians with an expansive and multifaceted survey of the discipline. Researchers can explore a wide range of materials—from documentaries and field notes to written ethnographies and reference works.
Unlimited users.
Updated quarterly. Contains records for all types of material on Mexican-American topics and Chicanos. Since 1992, the Chicano Database covers material on the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
Unlimited users.
This database integrates four bibliographies—the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine—to create the definitive international database for the history of science, technology and medicine. The History of Science, Technology, and Medicine database indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields.
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Brings together more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latin authors working in the United States. Includes nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before. Users will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays. Currently has over 106,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and drama.
Unlimited users.
This comprehensive database is the definitive index to the world's literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. LGBT Life contains indexing and abstracts for more than 250 LGBT-specific core periodicals as well as periodicals in Women’s and Gender Studies. It also contains more than 350 books and reference works.
LGBT Life provides comprehensive coverage of traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle and regional publications, including The Advocate, Lesbian News and Bay Windows. LGBT Life also provides indexing and abstracts for the full run of many historically significant titles such as ONE, The Ladder, Mattachine Review, Christopher Street and Body Politic. In addition, LGBT Life includes other source types such as monographs, reference books, newsletters, case studies and speeches. It also provides relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies.
Unlimited users.
Comprises over 10,000 titles and more than 2 million pages of fully searchable content, covering trial books from all countries and languages (although the great majority are in English and published in the U.S. or Great Britain); includes books covering multiple trials as well as books about a single trial. Based on the law libraries of Harvard and Yale, and of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York, as well as some from the British Library. The category of "trials" includes unofficially published accounts of trials; official trial documents, briefs, and arguments where these were printed as separate publications; official, separately published records of legislative proceedings; administrative proceedings; and arbitrations (domestic and international).
Access to this resource is funded by the Tarlton Law Library at the Jamail Center for Legal Research.
Unlimited users.
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
Unlimited users.
Includes more than 49,500 bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Start searching with the big search box on the library homepage.
A more targeted place to search is at the link for Articles & More beneath the search bar.
On the left toolbar in an Articles & More search, check these boxes for credible & relevant results:
If you want to narrow even more, try these options to filter:
Keep an eye on the number of your search results. Start browsing when you feel you have a manageable number of results to skim through.
Use the word AND (in all-caps) between your search terms.
Search for a Specific Phrase
Put quotations around a group of words like "united states" to retrieve results with that exact wording.
Use the word OR (in all-caps) between your search terms.
Use an * at the end of a word to search for all forms of that word.
An * can also be used to replace a character in a word.
Use the word NOT (in all-caps) between your search terms.
Try grouping the above strategies in a single search:
Texas and Southwest Focused
U.S. History Focused
In some cases, our online journal subscriptions do not provide access to specific articles. This issue is often due to the online subscription only covering a specific date range for the journal (e.g. 1992 to present). However, the article may be available online in another database.
If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click 
to find it in another database or in print in the libraries.
If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click 
to have the article emailed to you. This is a FREE service available to all current UT students, staff and faculty, with a 3-5 day turnaround time.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.