LibGuides: Texas History: Texas Government Docs.

Texas Government Document Collections

Gammel's Laws of Texas (1822-1897)
H.P.N. Gammel's The Laws of Texas (1822-1897) has long been one of the most important primary resources for the study of Texas' complex history during the 19th century.
Government Documents Collection on Portal to Texas History
Browse over 400,000 items or narrow the search utilizing available filters and limiters. These documents are primarily related to Texas, but other state documents can be found as well.
Texas Data Center (Texas Comptroller)
The Comptroller’s Data Center presents data from a variety of sources and provides it to the public in machine-readable, platform-independent raw data sets. Here you can find data on revenue, expenditures, procurement, taxes and fees and more.
Texas Historic Sites Atlas
The Atlas features more than 300,000 site records, including data on Official Texas Historical Markers and National Register of Historic Places properties in Texas. Also included are cemeteries, courthouses, museums, and sawmills across the state.
Texas Laws and Resolutions Archive
"The Texas Laws and Resolutions Archive consists of legislative bills that were filed with the Office of the Texas Secretary of State beginning with the 78th Legislative Session. All bills, joint resolutions, and concurrent resolutions passed by the Texas Legislature, including those vetoed by the Governor, are included."
Texas Legislative Reference Library
This is a general research and reference service agency that primarily assists members of the Texas Legislature. The library also assists the public and other state agencies with legislative research.
Texas Legislature Online
Find out about pending legislation in the House and Senate, look up bills and voting records, contact your local legislator, and look at other options.
Texas Patents
The Texas Patents collection consists of United States patents filed by Texas inventors before 1900. A majority of the patents are for agricultural and industrial applications, such as seeding machines, harvesters, plows, wind and water propellers, and steam engines. Other inventions include timekeepers, remedies, and firearms.
Texas Register
1976-present. Published weekly, the Texas Register records state agency rule making and review actions, governor's appointments, attorney general opinions, requests for proposals, and other miscellaneous documents.
Texas Reports
Decisions of the Supreme Court of the State of Texas since 1846.
Texas Soil Surveys
The Texas Soil Surveys demonstrate early scientific thought regarding soil classification and use. Each survey consists of a soil map and separate book. The maps show many cultural features in the landscape such as businesses, churches, schools, mills, gins, and ferries. The collection embraces all Texas county and reconnaissance soil surveys completed prior to 1950.
Texas State Publications
This growing collection of materials produced by the State of Texas and municipal governments includes agency annual reports, legislative publications, statistical reports, and various government reports and periodicals.

Government document not available online?

Many Texas government documents and state or county records are not digitized and can only be accessed by visiting a physical archive or institution. To help you prepare for an in-person visit, consider using the online search tools below to identify relevant materials—even if the full documents aren’t available online.

Need help planning your research trip? Visit the Research Tips section for help finding and Navigating Texas Government Documents page for guidance on locating materials in Texas archives.

Credits

This list was informed by the work of several excellent Texas research guides listed below: