LibGuides: RHE 309J: Rhetoric of Public Space/Memory, Prof. Batt: Find your Sources

Find Texas News

Austin American Statesman
The Statesman is our major daily here in Austin and covers Central Texas, including political reporting. This paper tends to print articles from the Associated Press and other major newspapers for national and international coverage.

more... less...

Provides full text and full image articles with digital reproductions of every page, every article and every issue in PDF format. As the leading newspaper in the capital of Texas, the Historical Austin American Statesman provides researchers with unique insights into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of this important state, as well as the southwest U.S. from the late 19th through the 20th century. The paper has strong central Texas coverage, especially for political reporting.
More recent issues are available in Factiva.
Austin Business Journal
Business news in Austin. Ask a librarian if you can't access articles.
Austin Chronicle
This is our city's free weekly. It very apparently skews to the left of the political spectrum, but is a valuable resource for local issues.
The Austin Villager
weekly Austin newspaper for the Black community.
Community Impact
This paper comes to many homes for free and has a surprising amount of coverage and data for local issues. Choose your location for very specific content. Covers Austin, Houston and Dallas/Fort Worth metro areas.
Daily Texan
University of Texas at Austin Campus community newspaper.
Texas Observer
Texas nonprofit news source.
Texas Standard
Daily news show for Texas broadcast on our public radio
Texas Tribune
Nonprofit news source inTexas

Texas Newspaper Archive
Unlimited users.
Digitized copies and content of Texas newspapers, including The Austin Daily Texan (1900-2019), Galveston Daily News (1865-2017), San Antonio Express (1865-1977), San Antonio Light (1883-1977)and hundreds of other Texas newspapers.
Texas Reference Center
background sources and articles covering all aspects of Texas

Find News - National, International and Specalized

Google News

Alt-Press Watch
alternative new sources, 1970-present
Ethnic NewsWatch
News from the indigenous and ethnic press in the US, 1985-present
Newspaper Source Plus
News from major news outlets, dates vary
Nexis Uni
local, national and international news, dates vary. This database is giant!

Find Background Information

In addition to Googling your topic, you may find information in these sources:

Handbook of Texas Online
Texas history encyclopedia
Gale eBooks
Search across specialized encyclopedias

Find Articles from Scholarly Journals and Magazines

Libraries Search: Articles & More
Find scholarly and non-scholarly articles from across most, but not all, of the libraries journal, magazine and newspaper collections

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly sources with a Google search. Use through this link or the Libraries home page to get past paywalls.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly and non-scholarly sources from across disciplines

Where is the article?

If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click Find it at UT to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click Get a Scan to have the article emailed to you.