LibGuides: UGS 302: Influence of Marketing on Society / Crabbe: Statistics & Data

Demographic & Market Data

Explore Census Data This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides population, housing, industry, economic, and geographic data and maps from the U.S. Bureau of the Census.

Claritas My Best Segments
MyBestSegments ZIP Code Look-up lets you view your neighborhood’s household segments (psycho-graphics) within any ZIP Code. To view your neighborhood’s top five segments, along with a descriptive snapshot about each segment’s characteristics, enter your 5-digit ZIP Code.
GSS Data Explorer
The General Social Survey (GSS) is a project of NORC at the University of Chicago, with principal funding from the National Science Foundation. Since 1972, the GSS has been monitoring societal change and studying the growing complexity of American society.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Contains 700+ industry research reports and offers the very latest content on every U.S. industry. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.
IBISWorld’s industry risk rating reports are intended to be used alongside financial statement analysis to provide a full forward-looking picture for strategic planners, bankers and aspiring industry entrants. These US industry risk rating determine how much risk an industry will face over the next 18 months by assessing the operating conditions for companies in the industry.
Note: IBISWorld promotes reports on the Web that they either plan to or are willing to write. If someone purchases one of these reports, then IBISWorld will produce the report and include it in our package.

IPUMS
Provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space.

Mintel This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Report embargo; 70 days from the current date. Includes market research reports for Europe, the UK, and the US. Reports cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink. Reports discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts.
In order to use Mintel, you must first agree to the terms of Mintel Academic Access. After you agree, you then need to sign in with your Mintel Reports Personal Profile before you can use the database. New users can create a profile using an online form that provides Mintel with your name, email address and a password of your own choosing; however, the email address must include the ""utexas.edu"" domain [e.g. @mccombs.utexas.edu, @mail.utexas.edu, @austin.utexas.edu]. Addresses from other domains [e.g., @yahoo.com, @gmail.com, @utexas.net] will not be accepted.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. 5 users.
Updated regularly. An Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Professional mapping applications can take over 20 hours of training to use, but SimplyMap is designed so that most users need less than 10 minutes of training in order to use the product.
Please either create a free account or use the Guest Login to enter the site.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

PRIZM Segment Narratives
Claritas PRIZM Premier classifies every U.S. household into one of 68 consumer segments based on the household’s purchasing preferences. These are brief profiles that tell you a little about a population's lifestyle. You can use the information here with the PRIZM Report tab from SimplyAnalytics.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
1790 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides easy access to historical census data for the United States. Allows users to visually analyze and understand the demography of any part of the United States with access to the following:
- Interactive thematic maps of historical census data
- Customized reports for any chosen area or areas (including aggregates)
- Complete coverage of the United States, down to neighborhoods and streets
- Simple navigation buttons and a find tool make it easy and efficient to study neighborhoods
Users can examine geographic areas while selecting the type of data to be shown, such as population density or income level. The corresponding data tables are also available.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.
While historical and time series data are not a focus of Statista, the metadata about each table provides all the necessary information to go to the table’s source, where historical information may be available.

University of Texas Institutional Reporting, Research and Information Systems
IRRIS is the central point of contact for official campus statistics and serves as a major repository for information on students, faculty, courses, semester credit hour production, degrees awarded and facilities utilization. Go to ‘Spotlight on Data’ tab to engage with the content.

Business & Economic Data

Consumer Expenditure Survey
The Consumer Expenditure Surveys (CE) program provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States.
Economic Census
Every five years, the U.S. Census Bureau collects extensive statistics about businesses that are essential to understanding the American economy. Typically includes revenues for industries, number of establishments and number of employees. The 2017 data is being published in 2020.

IMF eLibrary This link opens in a new window
1945 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated several times a year. Provides statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. Provides users with time series data of major economic aggregates used in economic analysis. The IFS reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts. Contains data from 1945 until the latest current month data has been released for (there is usually about a 2 month lag time).
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
1998 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. The online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Comprises 17 Studies by Themes for monographs and reports; all OECD books and papers published since 1998; and the OECD statistical datasets online, which cover over 80 countries with data going back to the 1960s.
Note: Datasets from the International Energy Agency (IEA) are not included in our subscription.
World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new window
1960 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated quarterly. An extensive collection of data about global development. Provides more than 550 times series covering demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources and environmental topics for more than 200 countries and 18 country groups. You can access the data through the dataBank, as an ebook, or in Excel or CSV formats.
World Bank Terms of Use

Other Statistics & Data

American Community Survey
The American Community Survey (ACS) is an annual source for detailed population and housing information about the United States. It also includes local information (city, state, zipcode) on education, race, ethnicity, income, employment, number of businesses, industries, health

ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
1993 - present. Unlimited users.
In order to download datasets and documentation, UT users must create an account and login using their @utexas.edu or @austin.utexas.edu email account, in order to be recognized as being affiliated with a member institution.

ICPSR is the world's largest archive of computer readable social science data, containing more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Available data can be browsed by topic or searched.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.
While historical and time series data are not a focus of Statista, the metadata about each table provides all the necessary information to go to the table’s source, where historical information may be available.

Polls & Public Opinion Data

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new window
1937 - present. Unlimited users.
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.
Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
1986 - present. 4 users.
Updated monthly. A comprehensive compilation of public opinion surveys, containing the full text of more than 350,000 questions and responses from 14,000 surveys conducted by 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries.
OpinionArchives This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
OpinionArchives includes the searchable full text of:
- The American Spectator (1967-current)
- Commonweal (1924-current)
- Harper's (1850-current)
- LaFollettes (1919-1929)
- The Nation (1865-current)
- The New Leader (1924-current)
- The New Republic (1914-current)
- The New Yorker (1925-current)
- The Progressive (1909-current)
- The Weekly Standard (1995-current)

Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.
WorldPublicOpinion.org
WorldPublicOpinion.org is an international collaborative project whose aim is to give voice to public opinion around the world on international issues. WorldPublicOpinion.org is managed by the Program for Public Consultation. The Program for Public Consultation (PPC) is part of the School of Public Policy at the University of Maryland.

Latin American Public Opinion Project This link opens in a new window
2004 - 2016. Unlimited.
The AmericasBarometer survey is the only scientifically rigorous comparative survey that covers 34 nations including all of North, Central, and South America, as well as a significant number of countries in the Caribbean. Each year it publishes dozens of high quality academic studies and policy-relevant papers.

YouGov
YouGov is an international research data and analytics group headquartered in London.

Librarian

Elise Nacca

Email Me

Contact:

Perry-Castañeda (Main) Library (PCL)

Subjects: Rhetoric, Undergraduate Studies

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required