LibGuides: UGS 302: Influence of Marketing on Society / Crabbe: Find Academic Sources

Try these databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
multi-disciplinary
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Updated monthly. A scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included.

Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals. Contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.

Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
WARC: World Advertising Research Center (Advertising and Marketing Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users. On Campus Use Only
WARC is a database providing access to advertising and marketing information from various sources. The searchable sources include organizations of various countries, monographs, conference papers, abstracts (including ‘Market research abstracts’) and the full-text of various journals, including the International journal of Market Research, the Journal of Advertising Research, the International Journal of Advertising, Admap, the Journal of Advertising History and Market Leader.

Turn a topic to a search

Start off broad:

gentrification and airbnb

Scroll through results and pick up keywords

gentrification	airbnb
displacement	sharing economy
transformation of neighborhoods / cities	peer to peer / p2p
	short-term rentals

Who is impacted?

minorities / marginalized populations

elderly / senior citizens

people with disabilities

specific groups: african americans, blacks, location specific ethnic communities (ex. Polish in Greenpoint)

socio-economic status / low income / affordable housing

How is impact measured?

rent / rent gap

demographics

housing availability and affordability

segregation

labor / workforce / jobs

Lastly, consider paying attention to geography where relevant. Policies for short-term rentals in New Orleans are different than they are in London.

Try a broad search

Library 'all in one' search
Search anything, narrow to materials you want. You will get a lot of results, so brainstorm better keywords to narrow.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.