LibGuides: UGS 302: Influence of Marketing on Society / Crabbe: Popular press

News and magazines

Why do you give me so many links?

Unfortunately, our news coverage is spread across many databases. Since it's not easily searchable in our all in one search, try a few of the below.

New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
1851 - present. Unlimited.

Access restricted to current UT Austin students, faculty, and staff only. New users MUST register first for free access! See our Instructions for creating your NYT account.

Access includes more than 150 years of articles, breaking news, multimedia content, Times newsletters, the International, Spanish, and Chinese editions of the Times, and teaching and learning tools. Our subscription also includes access to the NYT Cooking, Games, and The Athletic.

After creating your account, access articles, video, audio, digital images of the newspaper back to 1851, and more through the New York Times.com and the NYT mobile app.

The New York Times, published in New York City since 1851, is the largest metropolitan newspaper in the United States. The New York Times has long been an important source of reporting, information and opinion, covering politics, finance, health, science, culture, the arts, sports, and fashion in the U.S. and abroad, with special emphasis on the New York metropolitan area.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Good for international coverage.
Updated daily. Provides a full-color and full-page collection of newspapers from around the world,. Includes over 1000 titles from Europe, Asia, the Middle East, Latin America, and the United States. A 60-day archive is also available to browse by country, language, and newspaper title, and to search full text of articles, photograph captions, and headlines.
Once inside the newspaper, click on a headline to read the article or zoom in to read the article as it appears in print.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

Economist
focuses on current affairs, international business, politics, technology, and culture

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Good for limiting to regions or cities in the US
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Includes Wall St Journal, Financial Times and Washington Post
Updated daily. A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal), newswires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites. Contains over 8000 publications with content from 118 countries in 22 languages.
This database was formerly called Dow Jones Interactive.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

What role does the populat press play in my research?

What does a journalist do?

After engaging with some academic articles, I think many of you are realizing how challenging it can be to engage with scholarship. A journalist has many jobs, but one of them is to engage with that scholarship, interview scholars and other stakeholders and make the information in research relevant and comprehendible to their readers.

Another important function of the press is to elevate viewpoints from different sides of an issue. How does a policy or trend affect a population, a location, a business, etc.?