LibGuides: AMS 347R: Race/Migration: Mediterranean : Periodicals

Guides to Periodicals

Early American periodicals index to 1850
Call Number: MCPRINT 8
Nineteenth century readers' guide to periodical literature, 1890-1899
Call Number: AI 13 R496
Literary writings in America : a bibliography
Call Number: Z 1225 L58
Literary reviews in British periodicals, 1798-1820
Call Number: Z 2013 W36
Wellesley index to Victorian periodicals, 1824-1900
Call Number: AI 3 H6
C.R.I.S. : the combined retrospective index set to journals in history, 1838-1974
Call Number: D 1 C1747
Comprehensive index to English-language little magazines, 1890-1970
Call Number: PN 4836 S235

Periodical Databases

American Periodicals Series (APS) This link opens in a new window
1740 - 1940. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Titles include Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine, the first American professional journals, and several consumer magazines still in publication, such as Vanity Fair, Harper's Magazine, and Ladies' Home Journal. The search interface allows you to search the complete text, including tables of contents, by boolean and keyword operators. Articles are linked to the corresponding page images, downloadable in PDF format.
Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
1685 - 1835. Unlimited users.
Provides full text access to British newspapers and periodicals from the 17th and 18th centuries. Features many short run items and very rare materials to complement other resources already available in this area. Integrates access to sections one through five of this digital project.
Access to this resource is partially funded by the Emily Knauss Library Endowment for the Liberal Arts.
Search across Adam Matthew primary source databases using AM Explorer
British Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.
C19: Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
1770 - 1931. Unlimited users.
Covers multiple content types, providing records for more than 11 million documents ranging from books and newspapers to government documents and periodicals. Collection of ten digital archives, including such notable indexes as House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, and Palmer’s Index to the Times of London. Each index can be searched separately, or a comprehensive search of the entire database is also possible.
HarpWeek This link opens in a new window
1857 - 1912. Unlimited users.
Provides full text and page impages of Harper's Weekly, one of the most important serials of nineteenth-century America. Includes browse issues by date, search the index, search for the full text of articles, browse literature by genre, or find people by their cccupation or role in society.
The University of Texas Libraries subscribes to the entire database, including The Civil War Era (1857-1865), Reconstruction I (1866-1871), Reconstruction II (1872-1877), Gilded Age I (1878-1883), Gilded Age II (1884-1889), Gilded Age III (1890-1895), Gilded Age IV (1896-1901), Gilded Age V (1902-1907), and Gilded Age VI (1908-1912).
HarpWeek is designed for Netscape Navigator 3.x or above OR Internet Explorer 3.x or above at 800 X 600 screen resolution with Java, JavaScript and Cookies enabled. Printing pages (which are large -- the original size is 11" x 15.5") can best be accomplished by downloading the page to disk, then opening the page in an image-manipulation program.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
1770 - 2000. Unlimited users.
Updated annually. A major archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online. Contains over 700 journals comprising more than 3 million articles and 15 million article pages. The scope is international and multi-disciplinary, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required