LibGuides: Computer Science: Databases

Databases

Computer Science Focused:

These databases take you to resources that focus on Computer Science topics. Most of them offer full-text access and/or are open access. However, if you're looking for something and cannot find access to it through UT, you can request it through ILL! (Box to the right.)

ACL Anthology
Coverage varies. Unlimited users.

Open digital repository of research papers in computational linguistics from the Association for Computational Linguistics (ACL). Provides free access to over 100,000 conference and workshop papers on computational linguistics and natural language processing.
ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library
1908 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated frequently. The product has two parts:
- The ACM Full-Text collection. The full-text of ACM publications.
- The ACM Guide to Computing Literature. Described as, “the most comprehensive bibliographic database in existence today focused exclusively on the field of computing."
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection
1962 - present. Unlimited users.

Updated regularly. Full text and A&I database covering the latest developments in high technology with a focus on computer science, aerospace, energy science, information science, and many others. The Computer Science Database is also included with this collection, adding full-text coverage across many areas and applications including artificial intelligence, cybersecurity, software engineering, and related disciplines.
arXiv.org
1991 - present. Unlimited users.
Created by Paul Ginsparg at the Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, New Mexico and launched in 1991, arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Areas covered include physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computational linguistics, and neuroscience.
Compendex
1884 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Ei Compendex indexes the research literature of the field of engineering. The product contains more than 17 million total records. Over a million new records, with abstracts, are added per year. More than 3,600 journals and 4,100 conference publications and trade magazines are currently indexed. Customizable e-mail or RSS alerts are available.
Computer Source
1985 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides users with the latest information and current trends in high technology. Offers full text for nearly 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications. Leading general magazines are also provided including: eWeek, Fast Company, MacWorld, PC Magazine, PC World, Red Herring, Software Magazine, etc.
Gale OneFile: Computer Science
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes more than 1,200 journals and periodicals, providing information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas like hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
IEEE Xplore
Various dates - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides full-text access to IEEE and IET (formerly IEE) journal articles and conference proceedings. Also includes IEEE technical standards and conference proceedings from VDE Verlag. Coverage is the research literature of electrical and computer engineering, electronics, computer science, aerospace engineering, biomedical engineering, and transportation. Contains over three million records, with some content back to 1872. Also contains indexing from partner groups.
INSPEC
1898 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Indexes the research literature of physics; electrical engineering and electronics; & computers and control. Offers over 15 million records and strong international coverage. The archive portion, which was formerly separate, is now integrated with the current file.
Technology Collection
1962 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. The Technology Collection combines the Materials Science & Engineering and the Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collections into a vast and reliable source of interdisciplinary information across multiple areas of study including computer science, engineering, energy, chemistry, materials science, optics, mathematics, and physics.

A complete title list is available here.

dblp
A computer science bibliographic database hosted in Germany. Covers major CS journals and conference proceedings.

Related Databases:

These databases contain content connected to computer science but are more general.

Academic Search Complete
1865 - present. Unlimited users.

Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
BCC Research
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology.
Covers:
- Advanced Materials
- Biotechnology
- Energy And Resources
- Fuel Cell And Battery Technologies
- Healthcare
- Information Technology
- Instrumentation And Sensors Manufacturing
- Membrane And Separation Technology
- Nanotechnology
- Pharmaceuticals
- Plastics
- Semiconductor Manufacturing
Science and Technology
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides access to the full text of journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries and other publishers whose online journals are hosted by ScienceDirect.

Books: Selected titles from Elsevier and its subsidiaries are included. These books are DRM-free with unlimited users and PDF chapter downloads/printing.
Web of Science
1900 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.

ILL (Interlibrary Loan)

Can't find an article in UTL's databases? Try out Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Request a book, article, chapter, etc., from another library!

UTL Interlibrary Loan Services

Additional Full-Text Resources

Computer Science Research Network (SSRN)
Open access preprint server for CS.
UT Austin Computer Science Technical Reports
Full text of hundreds of reports and theses from the department since 1959.
Edsger W. Dijkstra Archive
Writings of longtime UT CS professor and Turing Award winner E.W. Dijkstra.