E 369: 20th Century Drama

Unlimited users.

Updated irregularly. Includes 241 alphabetically arranged entries on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats figures who did not explicitly deal with, but who still deeply affected, literature, literary theory, or literary criticism, as well as figures and kinds of inquiry from other fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography, and there are extensive cross references both within and at the conclusion of each entry. Chronological range extends from Plato and Aristotle to the present, with wide geographical and cultural coverage.

Unlimited users.

These Bibliographies provide an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, expert recommendations and authoritative commentary on the best works available in the discipline covered, making them particularly useful for anyone beginning research.

UT Austin has access to the all bibliographies in all subject areas.

3 users.

Updated three times per year. Biographical dictionary of people of distinction in the British Isles and its colonies who died before December 31, 2000. Provides signed articles, each with a bibliography of resource materials, written by specialists. Content includes the complete text of the new sixty-volume Oxford DNB with 50,000 biographies and 10,000 portrait illustrations as well as the complete text of the original thirty-three volume of the DNB.

We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a message to this effect will be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

8 users.

Updated daily. Provides Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with annual additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links.

Covers the artistic traditions of the world's leading cultures, countries, cities, towns, and regions as well as important archaeological sites, monuments, and buildings. Includes over 45,000 signed articles on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory through the present as well as over 40,000 web links to important art images in galleries and museums around the world. Both the fine arts (painting, sculpture, and architecture) and the decorative arts (ceramics, textiles, jewellery, interior design, furniture, glass, metalwork, and more) are included.

We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. If you see a username and password prompt, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

3 users.

Updated quarterly. Provides biographical information for over 19,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. Ranges in time from the earliest recorded European explorations to the very recent past.

We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

Unlimited users.

Provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Includes plot summaries, literary criticism, author biographies, book reviews, poems, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and more.

Unlimited users.

Updated regularly. Full-text database that provides biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors and their works from every age and literary discipline. The database offers a variety of search options, including searches by person or work. Content comes from a variety of sources, including the following major reference sources: Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online.

Unlimited users.

Updated quarterly. Covers words from across the English-speaking world and offers etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and phonetic pronunciation. Corresponds to the print Oxford English Dictionary published in 1989 and the three Additions volumes published 1993-1997.

Unlimited users.

Documents words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another across the United States. DARE is based on face-to-face interviews carried out in all 50 states between 1965 and 1970, and on a comprehensive collection of written materials including diaries, letters, novels, histories, biographies, newspapers, and more, from the colonial period to the present day.

The entries in DARE include regional pronunciations, variant forms, some etymologies, and regional and social distributions of the words and phrases.

Selected maps show where words were found in the 1,002 communities investigated during the fieldwork.

Some entries include audio recordings of the original DARE field interviews.

For a written or oral word to be included in DARE it must be a regional or folk term. Words from a standard dictionary are not included.

The DARE database can help with research along the lines of the well-cited “Pop vs Soda” debate.