For this assignment, you might need a few types of sources:
| Source Type | Start Here |
|
Scholarly Articles |
Start with the library search bar - advanced search. Try the "peer reviewed" limit. You can also use the recommended library databases. |
|
Books |
Start with the library search bar - advanced search. You can limit to books. Use the find books tab. Consider publisher and author as you decide if a book is scholarly. You might only read and use the chapters most relevant to your research. |
| News | Use our New York Times Access or the NexisUni database. |
| Current University Policies | College/university websites, consider what kind of college/university you're interested in designing, and find peer institutions. |
Searching databases is different than searching Google. Distil what you're looking for into a few key terms or phrases, rather than whole sentences.
|
Key Concepts |
immigrant students | academic achievement | policy debates |
| Related Terms |
undocumented students (more specific) immigrants
|
learning academic performance achievement (more general) success academic success |
public debate policy ideas policy proposals attitudes (more general/related) negative attitudes positive attitudes |
Multidisciplinary
Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Unlimited users.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
Subject specific
Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides a digital library of education-related resources. Contains over 1.1 million citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.
Also includes more than 107,000 full text non-journal documents indexed by the ERIC database. Approximately one-half of the entries in the ERIC database are to ERIC documents. Microfiche copies of ERIC documents, including those prior to 1996, are in the Collections Deposit Library (CDL) Microforms Collection at MCFICHE 4913.
EID login required
This video, from RMIT University, explains what a database is...
If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click FIND IT AT UT to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.
If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click GET A SCAN to have the article emailed to you. This option will take a few days.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.