French Studies

Unlimited users.

The ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of French Language) database consists of nearly 2,000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics and philosophy.

Unlimited users.

This Collection consists of newspapers and periodicals, broadsides, leaflets, books and pamphlets and other ephemera produced by or relating to the underground resistance in Belgium, France, Italy, and The Netherlands during the Second World War. Also included are related materials: ephemera from the pre-War and “Phony War” periods; Free French and other foreign publications; items related to the liberation of Paris and to the period immediately after the liberation; autograph letters and manuscripts; and books inscribed by their authors. Most of the documents are in French, while some are in German, Flemish, Dutch, Italian, and Yiddish.

Unlimited users.

The revolution of 1848 caused the final collapse of monarchy in France, and in the power vacuum that followed a range of competing voices sought to control the future direction of the country. The social and political upheavals of this period are richly detailed in this unique collection of newspapers and periodicals – an essential resource for understanding modern European history.

Unlimited users.

Updated twice annually. Provides the most wide-ranging online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century. Includes letters in English, French, German and Italian from families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers, etc. Also includes primary source letters from more than 6,000 writers and numerous presses, as well as document sources such as manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources. Explore the writer's views on history, literature, language, arts, philosophy, science, medicine, and personal, social and political relations.

An ongoing scholarly research project of the University of Oxford and other universities and organizations.

Unlimited users.

A comprehensive resource that covers the highly diverse field of applied linguistics. The encyclopedia covers the philosophy and history of applied linguistics, discusses historic and emerging areas of research within the field, and provides biographies of key applied linguists.

Unlimited users.

FRANCIS covers a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities and social sciences from 1972-2015. It is strong in religion, the history of art, and literature (with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature). PASCAL covers the fields of science, technology, and medicine from 1984-2015. Searching by classification is based on the Pascal and Francis classification schemes.

Unlimited users.

Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Unlimited users.

Monthly updates, with about 14,000 new records added a year. Indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.

Unlimited users.

Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.

3 users.

Updated daily. Provides a full-color and full-page collection of newspapers from around the world,. Includes over 1000 titles from Europe, Asia, the Middle East, Latin America, and the United States. A 60-day archive is also available to browse by country, language, and newspaper title, and to search full text of articles, photograph captions, and headlines.

Once inside the newspaper, click on a headline to read the article or zoom in to read the article as it appears in print.

We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.