8 users.
Updated daily. Provides Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with annual additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links.
Covers the artistic traditions of the world's leading cultures, countries, cities, towns, and regions as well as important archaeological sites, monuments, and buildings. Includes over 45,000 signed articles on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory through the present as well as over 40,000 web links to important art images in galleries and museums around the world. Both the fine arts (painting, sculpture, and architecture) and the decorative arts (ceramics, textiles, jewellery, interior design, furniture, glass, metalwork, and more) are included.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. If you see a username and password prompt, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Unlimited users.
Material Connexion is the world’s leading material resource allowing users to browse thousands of innovative and sustainable materials from over 6000 manufacturers, learn about trending topics in materials, and source materials for projects.
International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture
by
In two volumes, the International Dictionary of Architecture covers the history of architecture from ancient Greece to the present. More than 400 critics of Western architecture have contributed to this text.
The Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture
by
A global survey of the most outstanding works of contemporary world architecture.
The Sourcebook of Contemporary Architecture
by
THE SOURCEBOOK OF CONTEMPORARY ARCHITECTURE presents more than 300 noteworthy case studies in its 650 pages, the first large-scale book of its kind to showcase a complete and diverse range of structures worldwide. The case studies incorporate every type of architectural project possible-private, commercial and public-making this lushly illustrated, information-rich book an invaluable resource that architects and architectural students will turn to again and again. Each case study includes a succinct description of the project at hand, listing its name, client, and location and presenting its unique objectives, challenges, and solutions. Every case study also features numerous full-color photographs and detailed renderings of site and floor plans. Finally, each case study provides a full listing of those involved in the project: the architectural firm and its participating architects; engineers; consultants; and contractors. The book features the work of world-renowned architects such as Gehry Partners, Ateliers Jean Nouvel, Santiago Calatrava, Richard Meier & Partners, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill, Philippe Starck, Tod Williams Billie Tsien & Associates, Daniel Claudio Taddei, Diller Scofidio, and others. Well-known projects include New York's Modern Museum of Art redesign and Time Warner Center, England's Selfridges Birmingham, and the MIT Stata Center in Cambridge, MA.
World Architecture, 1900-2000
by
One thousand of the world's most notable buildings of the 20th century are presented in this 10-volume series. Each volume focuses on a particular geographical region, highlighting 100 buildings through text, photographs, and drawings.
Membership directories usually list contact information for architects or firms. They may also include lists of projects and bibliographic references.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.
