LibGuides: South Asian Studies: Subject Specific Indexes and Databases

Recommended Resources

Full-Text Databases
Disciplinary Indexes

Asian Film Online This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
An online streaming video collection of nearly 600 narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts. Offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection curated by film scholars and critics, viewers can explore the impact of globalization and urbanization on people’s everyday lives throughout the greater Asian region. Twenty-four countries across the region are represented, with a strong concentration on China, India, Iran, South Korea, and Southeast Asia.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
1492 - 2007. Unlimited users.
Provides full text access to primary source documents from the British Empire (the Empire encompassed Africa, the Americas, Australia, Oceania, and South Asia). Documents include travel accounts, the literature of Empire, photography and illustration, religious material, and records on issues of race and class in the colonial context.
The material is divided into 5 sections
1. Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969
2. Empire Writing and Literature of Empire
3. The Visible Empire
4. Religion and Empire
5. Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism c1607-2007
Browse by names, places and topics Search by period, date, places, person and subject.
Also includes scholarly interpretive essays on the British Empire.

Search across Adam Matthew primary source databases using AM Explorer
Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated irregularly. We have access to editions two and three. Includes articles on all aspects of the Islamic World. Discusses religion, history, politics, culture, distinguished Muslims, tribes and dynasties, crafts and sciences, geography, ethnography, flora and fauna, and other topics. Permits searching in both English and Arabic transcription.
The special fonts that are needed to use this database can be downloaded from the opening screen of the database.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
1985 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America (some international coverage). Includes more than 400,000 full-text articles from 200 publications.
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan This link opens in a new window
1947 - 1980. Unlimited users.
This collection of files from the British Foreign Office (later the Foreign and Commonwealth Office) and Dominions Office focuses on the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan. Events covered include independence and partition, the Indian annexation of Hyderabad and Goa, war between India and Pakistan, tensions and war between India and China, the consolidation of power of the Congress Party in India, military rule in Pakistan, the turbulent independence of Bangladesh and the development of nuclear weapons in the region. See Nature and Scope for a more detailed description of the collection.
Search across Adam Matthew primary source databases using AM Explorer
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Includes digital versions of the U.K. House of Commons Sessional Papers.
Sessional papers fall into the following three categories:
- Bills - drafts of legislation, to be reviewed through various parliamentary stages. If the Bill passes through these stages, it will become an Act of Parliament.
- House Papers - documents resulting from the work of the House and its Committees.
- Command Papers - Government papers (from Ministers) conveying information or decisions the Government wishes to draw to the attention of the House, presented ‘by Command of Her Majesty’.
Does not include debates (Hansard) or the House of Commons Journal.
Access provided to the following collections:
- 18th century (1688-1834)
- 19th century(1801-1900)
- 20th century (1901-2003/04 session)
Human Rights Studies Online This link opens in a new window
1900 - 2010. Unlimited users.
Provides access to primary and secondary materials (including 75,000 pages of text and 150 hours of video) on human rights issues in the 20th and early 21st centuries in Africa, Asia, Europe, United States, and Latin America. Subject coverage includes Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, Sierra Leone, and dirty wars in Latin America.
India, Raj and Empire This link opens in a new window
1615 - 1947. Unlimited users.
Provides documents covering the history of South Asia between the founding of the East India Company to the granting of independence to India and Pakistan. Includes original manuscript material, comprising diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works.
Access to this resource is funded by the Emily Knauss Library Endowment for the Liberal Arts.
Search across Adam Matthew primary source databases using AM Explorer
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Manupatra This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. 1 user.
Manupatra provides full-text and searchable access to Indian and International legal documents including judgments from the Supreme Court, High Courts, and Tribunals, as well as a database of Central & State Acts, Business Policies, Bills, Notification & Circulars, and more.
Nineteenth (19th) Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
1801 - 1900. Unlimited users.
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century. The content is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages.
Access to this resource is partially funded by the Emily Knauss Library Endowment for the Liberal Arts.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographies for Buddhism, Hinduism and Islamic Studies.
These Bibliographies provide an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, expert recommendations and authoritative commentary on the best works available in the discipline covered, making them particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
UT Austin has access to the all bibliographies in all subject areas.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Asian History This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Unlimited.
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Asian History is a dynamic online research encyclopedia which provides access to state-of-the-art research and also connects readers to the full range of internet resources for research and teaching, including audio, visual, video materials, digitized archives, and other primary sources. Articles are written by professional historians and independent scholars from around the world and their essays provide a comprehensive overview of each subject and a brief historiography; entries are periodically updated in response to feedback from readers and new developments in the field.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
60 day archive. 3 users.
Updated daily. Provides a full-color and full-page collection of newspapers from around the world,. Includes over 1000 titles from Europe, Asia, the Middle East, Latin America, and the United States. A 60-day archive is also available to browse by country, language, and newspaper title, and to search full text of articles, photograph captions, and headlines.
Once inside the newspaper, click on a headline to read the article or zoom in to read the article as it appears in print.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Saarey Music This link opens in a new window
Limited to 25 users.
In order to use this resource, you must first create an account. New users can create a profile using an online form that provides Saarey Music with your name, email address and a password of your own choosing; however, the email address must include the @austin.utexas.edu domain. Addresses from other domains [e.g., @yahoo.com, @gmail.com, @utexas.net] will not be accepted. Please Log Out when done.

Saarey Music provides streaming access to over 60 years of South Asian classical music, including such artists as Roshan Ara Begum, Ustad Amanat Ali & Ustad Fateh Ali Khan, Ustad Sharif Khan Poonchwala, Ustad M. Hussain Sarahang, and more. Genres represented in Saarey include Dhurpad, Thumri, Kafi, Tarana, and Ghazal.
South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
1864 - 1922. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides online access to a select group of newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from a variety of South Asian countries. Covers the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region.
AN represents the another collection of the World Newspaper Archive, a partnership between the Center for Research Librariesa community and Readex, a division of NewsBank, to systematically create an extensive Web-based collection of international newspapers. CRL will guarantee the long-term availability of this news content for the CRL community.
Access to this resource is funded by the Emily Knauss Library Endowment for the Liberal Arts.
Times of India (Historical) This link opens in a new window
1838 - 2005. Unlimited users.
The world’s most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India.Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more.
Covers key historical events such as the Sepoy Mutiny, which led to British rule in India; the formation of the Indian National Congress; and the rise of Gandhi’s civil disobedience movement. It captures the 1947 partitioning of India and Pakistan, the war over the Kashmir region, and the creation of Bangladesh. It reports on the assassinations of Indira and Rajiv Gandhi; the Bhopal industrial disaster, which resulted in thousands of deaths; and the rise of Pakistan as a nuclear power. And, it provides coverage of sports, the Indian film industry, and other stories of everyday life.

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
late 19th century - present. Unlimited users.
Updated quarterly. Brings together into one searchable resource Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from Royal Anthropological Institute in the UK. Provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. A Source Titles List is available.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Comprised of over 2.5 million digital images of visual material encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures. Focuses on, but is not limited to, the arts. Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture. Designed to be used by researchers in fields that do not traditionally use images as well as by art historians.
In order to take advantage of all the features of the site, you must register or log in with the service. The registration and login links are visible once you enter the database.
Asian American Drama This link opens in a new window
1891 - present. Unlimited users.
Documents the Asian American experience as dramatized in works by writers from the 18th century to the present. Brings together biographies, a performance database, production details, and associated visual resources, including photos, playbills, and manuscript images. Brings together more than 250 plays, beginning with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late nineteenth century and progresses to the writings of contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga. Along with many works by writers of Japanese, Filipino, Vietnamese, and Chinese descent, includes plays by writers of Hawaiian, Indian, Thai, Korean, Persian, and Malaysian ancestry.
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
1949 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated twice per year. Comprehensive index to religious, theological and related scholarship covering over 1,380 journal titles internationally, as well as 13,000 multi-authored books and reviews. There are a total of over 847,000 citations. Full text is available from more than seventy journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States. Coverage is comprehensive back to 1949, and includes earlier data for the Methodist Reviews Index.
Access to full text portion of this resource is funded by the the Louise Farmer Boyer Chair in Biblical Studies.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
1971 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Contains records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. Includes citations to western-language periodical articles, individually authored monographs (before 1992), chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Corresponds in part to the print Bibliography of Asian Studies.
C19: Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
1770 - 1931. Unlimited users.
Covers multiple content types, providing records for more than 11 million documents ranging from books and newspapers to government documents and periodicals. Collection of ten digital archives, including such notable indexes as House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, and Palmer’s Index to the Times of London. Each index can be searched separately, or a comprehensive search of the entire database is also possible.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1955 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Contains citations and abstracts of worldwide literature (excluding the United States and Canada) from approximately 2,100 journals and (since 1980) books and dissertations on political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural and intellectual history and related areas of the social sciences and humanities. Covers history dating from 1450 to the present. The database corresponds to the print Historical Abstracts, which was produced by ABC-CLIO.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
1906 - current. Unlimited users.
Updated annually. Indexes worldwide literature in European languages on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Includes a wide range of periodicals and collective publications, as well as monographs.
MLA International Bibliography
1926 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
For help searching the MLA International Bibliography, please see the MLA's video tutorials.
PAIS This link opens in a new window
1915 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Covers selected journal articles, books, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiche. More than 1,600 journals and over 8,000 monographs are indexed each year. Includes documents published worldwide in any of six languages: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The subject headings and abstracts are in English.
The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. At completion of this conversion, the PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records.

Where's the Article?

If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click FIND IT AT UT to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click GET A SCAN to have the article emailed to you. This option will take a few days.