LibGuides: MAN 374 General Management and Strategy: Industry Research

Industry Research Reports - Overview

Industry Reports - Overview
The University of Texas at Austin – Libraries subscribes to the following resources which will provide industry reports for academic use. The University Libraries will not purchase industry reports that are not included within our subscription databases. The University Libraries is prohibited from purchasing industry reports for individuals or groups affiliated with the University of Texas at Austin.

WARNING: When working on projects that involve individuals who are not University of Texas at Austin students you are prohibited from sharing industry research reports. You may only summarize or paraphrase the data.

Industry Reports

Reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology.

BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology.
Covers:
- Advanced Materials
- Biotechnology
- Energy And Resources
- Fuel Cell And Battery Technologies
- Healthcare
- Information Technology
- Instrumentation And Sensors Manufacturing
- Membrane And Separation Technology
- Nanotechnology
- Pharmaceuticals
- Plastics
- Semiconductor Manufacturing

Gartner provides unlimited access to a knowledge base of IT research and technology news, products and trends to support your research and business projects. Gartner is available to all current University of Texas at Austin students, faculty and staff. With thousands of research articles on every aspect of information technology, the applications of Gartner research reach beyond the technology field to practical uses in education, business management, healthcare, government and more.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Contains 700+ industry research reports and offers the very latest content on every U.S. industry. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.
IBISWorld’s industry risk rating reports are intended to be used alongside financial statement analysis to provide a full forward-looking picture for strategic planners, bankers and aspiring industry entrants. These US industry risk rating determine how much risk an industry will face over the next 18 months by assessing the operating conditions for companies in the industry.
Note: IBISWorld promotes reports on the Web that they either plan to or are willing to write. If someone purchases one of these reports, then IBISWorld will produce the report and include it in our package.

IBISWorld: Industry profiles on 700+ US niche industries including information on Barriers to Entry.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Contains 700+ industry research reports and offers the very latest content on every U.S. industry. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.
IBISWorld’s industry risk rating reports are intended to be used alongside financial statement analysis to provide a full forward-looking picture for strategic planners, bankers and aspiring industry entrants. These US industry risk rating determine how much risk an industry will face over the next 18 months by assessing the operating conditions for companies in the industry.
Note: IBISWorld promotes reports on the Web that they either plan to or are willing to write. If someone purchases one of these reports, then IBISWorld will produce the report and include it in our package.

Investext contains current and historical industry research reports.

Select NO DATE RANGE for best results.

Search For Industries

Select + sign next to Keywords in Search Criteria box
Select Search Headline or Search Whole Report from drop-down menu
Type search strategy
- To search using AND operator, please use a comma to separate keywords.
- To search using OR operator, please add another "Keywords" search window
Click Submit
Click View

Investext This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Provides as full-text PDFs expert reports by investment bank and brokerage house equity analysts along with independent consulting and company research firms, covering publicly-traded companies and their industries worldwide. Also contains GlobalData SWOT analysis reports. This resource replaces Thomson ONE.

MarketLine Advantage has industry reports with Porter's 5 Forces Analysis.

Select Industry Profiles from the drop-down menu.

MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides business news, opinion, and latest published reports help users to understand key trends and events, while qualitative and quantitative data and analysis support business research programs.
Access to this resource is partially funded by the McCombs School of Business at the University of Texas at Austin.

MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Unlimited.
Detailed market research reports from leading sources — Kalorama Information, Icon Group International, Packaged Facts and SBI. With reports ranging from 20 to 400 pages in length and containing charts, tables, graphs, expert analysis, and key facts about the topic area, coverage includes business-related subject areas of consumer products, demographics, food and beverage, healthcare, pharmaceuticals, and many more.

Topics:

Food & Beverage
Technology & Media
Heavy Industry
Demographics
Life Science
Consumer Goods
Service Industries
Public Sector

Mergent Online Industry Analysis section contains industry reports produced by FTSE Russell. Select "Reports" from the tool bar and then choose your industry focus.

Mergent - Industry Analysis

Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.
While historical and time series data are not a focus of Statista, the metadata about each table provides all the necessary information to go to the table’s source, where historical information may be available.

WARNING: If you are working on projects which involve persons who are not University of Texas at Austin students you are prohibited from sharing TechNavio reports. You may summarize or paraphrase the data, only.

Due to ongoing issues with the resource you must follow instructions below in order to retrieve a report. Only the abstract and table of contents will be available to view.

Step 1: Mouse over the report image click on the Quick Look "eye" symbol to reveal the abstract.

Step 2: Select "View Full Abstract" or "View Full Report"

Step 3: Select Get PDF from column on left-hand side of the page, report will not display. Enter your University of Texas at Austin email address. Reports will be sent via email within one business day.

Technavio This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies.Unlimited.
UT Austin students, faculty and staff only. Provides online technology research and advisory content with global coverage. It focuses on emerging technology trends that can shape the market

Report downloads are available, but you must select and request a specific report and supply your University of Texas at Austin email address. Reports will be sent via email within one business day.

Global Edge

Global Edge

Global Edge - Global Insights by Industry

This is your source for international business-related resources, statistics, risk assessments, and events for 20 distinct industry sectors. You will find a wealth of information for each industry.

Aerospace and Defense
Agriculture
Apparel and Textiles
Business Services
Chemicals
Construction
Consumer Products
Energy
Financial Services
Food and Beverage
Healthcare
Hospitality and Travel
Industrial Manufacturing
Media and Communications
Mining, Minerals, Metals
Pharmaceuticals
Public Services
Retail
Technology
Transport Manufacturing

MAN 374 General Management and Strategy

Industry Research

Industry Research Reports - Overview

Industry Reports - Overview

WARNING:

When working on projects that involve individuals who are not University of Texas at Austin students you are prohibited from sharing industry research reports. You may only summarize or paraphrase the data.

Industry Reports

Investext contains current and historical industry research reports.

MarketLine Advantage has industry reports with Porter's 5 Forces Analysis.

Select Industry Profiles from the drop-down menu.

Topics:

Food & Beverage

Technology & Media

Heavy Industry

Demographics

Life Science

Consumer Goods

Service Industries

Public Sector

Mergent Online Industry Analysis section contains industry reports produced by FTSE Russell. Select "Reports" from the tool bar and then choose your industry focus.

WARNING: If you are working on projects which involve persons who are not University of Texas at Austin students you are prohibited from sharing TechNavio reports. You may summarize or paraphrase the data, only.

Global Edge

Global Edge - Global Insights by Industry