LibGuides: Folklore: Databases for articles, books

Top databases

Tip: Toggle together or cross-search Ebsco databases (see below) by using the blue "Choose Databases" button once you have selected a particular database:

Screenshot of Ebsco database with Choose Databases button circled in top right corner

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Ebsco. Multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Ebsco. Worldwide indexing of anthropology literature.
Updated quarterly. Brings together into one searchable resource Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from Royal Anthropological Institute in the UK. Provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. A Source Titles List is available.
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Ebsco index to religious, theological and related scholarship covering over 1,380 journal titles internationally, as well as 13,000 multi-authored books and reviews.
Updated twice per year. Comprehensive index to religious, theological and related scholarship covering over 1,380 journal titles internationally, as well as 13,000 multi-authored books and reviews. There are a total of over 847,000 citations. Full text is available from more than seventy journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States. Coverage is comprehensive back to 1949, and includes earlier data for the Methodist Reviews Index.
Access to full text portion of this resource is funded by the the Louise Farmer Boyer Chair in Biblical Studies.
MLA International Bibliography
Ebsco. Includes coverage of folklore in literature, criticism, language. 1926- .
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across disciplines.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature This link opens in a new window
Covers articles on traditional culture& literature of the English-speaking world including custom, belief, narrative, song, dance, and material culture. Articles from 1892 through to today with regular monthly updates of newly indexed material. ABELL is widely regarded as one of the most important bibliographical sources for English studies.
Updated monthly. Contains over 750,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world. Includes links to the full text of 61 journals.
Ethnographic Video Online, Vols. I & II: Foundational Films This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior, including folklore.
A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. Features cross-searchable access to the acclaimed Ethnographic Video Online and Anthropology Online collections and provides anthropologists, sociologists and cultural historians with an expansive and multifaceted survey of the discipline. Researchers can explore a wide range of materials—from documentaries and field notes to written ethnographies and reference works.
Thematic areas include: family and race, material culture, language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, marriage, gender, and family roles.