LibGuides: Sustainable Design: Codes and Standards

Codes and Standards

These are some online tools that you can use to look for codes and standards. Also included are links to reports and documentation that may also be useful as you think through your design. Numerous texts also exist in Reference at the Architecture and Planning Library!

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Electronic full-text of products from the ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) and from associated organizations.
NOTE: ASTM Compass should work on all updated browsers, but Firefox and Safari seem to work best for off campus users
Includes:
- ASTM standards. Electronic full-text of current and historical ASTM standards. ASTM standards include test methods, specifications, accepted practice, and accepted terminology for materials, products, systems and services.
- ASTM symposia papers; also collected into STP (Selected Technical Papers) volumes.
- ASTM manuals collecting specialized information on technical topics
- ASTM journal content if in UT-Austin’s subscriptions
- API (American Petroleum Institute) current standards, including Manuals, Bulletins, Specifications, Technical Reports, Recommended Practices, Standards, Research Studies, Discussion Papers, and other API technical materials
.
AASHTO (American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials) Standards Unlimited users.Updated regularly. The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) promotes transportation-related policies and technical excellence within the transportation community. AASHTO standards and specifications include provisional standards, standard test methods, recommended practices, guide specifications, and manuals.NOTE: ASTM Compass should work on all updated browsers, but Firefox and Safari seem to work best for off campus users
ICC (International Code Council) Standards 1 user.Engineering Workbench includes the International Code Council (ICC) building codes, which promote safety and fire prevention. These codes are used throughout the U.S. to construct residential and commercial buildings, including homes and schools. The ICC was founded in 1994 by the Building Officials and Code Administrators International, Inc. (BOCA), International Conference of Building Officials (ICBO), and Southern Building Code Congress International, Inc. (SBCCI). Fifty states and the District of Columbia have adopted the I-Codes at the state or jurisdictional level.
NEPIS: National Environmental Publications Information System Unlimited users.Updated regularly. Provides full text access from a collection of over 7,000 archival and current documents published by the Environmental Protection Agency. Allows searching, viewing, and printing, including full images of all original pages and full-text. Includes documents that are no longer available in print form.
NFPA (National Fire Protection Association) Standards 1 user.Updated regularly. Engineering Workbench provides electronic full-text access of current NFPA (National Fire Protection Association) standards. The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) publishes more than 300 consensus codes and standards that are intended to minimize the risk and effects of fire.NFPA standards and codes establish criteria for building, processing, design, service and installation in the United States, as well as many other countries. More than 200 volunteer committees create the codes and standards, which are accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI).
TRID: The TRIS and ITRD Database Unlimited users.TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from the TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.

Internet Archive: International Code Consortium