The UT Libraries Collections portal contains a selection of digitized content from UT Libraries collections.
The University of Texas Libraries collects and preserves the finest achievements of human knowledge in support of not only research and instruction needs, but also the exploration of ideas and intellectual innovation. We are proud to provide access to digitized and born-digital items from our collections for researchers, scholars, educators, and the general public. The items presented here, including newspapers, images, books, maps, and more, represent only a small portion of the Libraries’ vast holdings. We are adding more all the time.
Access to over 30,000 geospatial datasets from our collections as well as the shared collections of other universities for researchers, scholars, educators, and the general public. You will find a wide variety of datasets available for download including georeferenced scanned maps from the Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection, vector datasets developed from collections in the Alexander Architectural Archives, geospatial data from the Benson Latin American Collection, and more. All geospatial data from the UT Libraries' collections is georeferenced and can be downloaded in a variety of GIS compatible formats including shapefile, georeferenced JPEG, KML, and GeoJSON.
Texas ScholarWorks was established to provide open, online access to the products of the University's research and scholarship, to preserve these works for future generations, to promote new models of scholarly communication, and to help deepen community understanding of the value of higher education.
The Texas Data Repository is a platform for publishing and archiving small datasets (and other data products) created by faculty, staff, and students at Texas higher education institutions. The repository is built in an opensource application called Dataverse, originally developed and used by Harvard University.
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) contains metadata records —information describing an item —for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Each record links to the original object on the content provider’s website. The DPLA brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. The DPLA aims to expand this crucial realm of openly available materials, and make those riches more easily discovered and more widely usable and used.
HathiTrust is a large digital library bringing together materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, libraries at HathiTrust partner institutions, and other commercial digitization projects. Search more than 11 million volumes with more than a third of these available for full text access and download (primarily books and journals published before 1923 and U.S. Government publications).
University of Texas students, faculty, and staff can download materials in the public domain in addition to conducting full text searches of all materials in the HathiTrust Catalog. UT Official Retirees and UT Extension Students are excluded from this access because of HathiTrust's strict definitions and added layer of authentication
Click the "Log In" button and choose "University of Texas at Austin" from the drop-down menu. Select "continue" and then enter your EID and password when prompted.
The HathiTrust is a partnership of more than 80 major academic and research libraries.