LibGuides: Religious Studies: Background information

Encyclopedias and dictionaries

Gale eBooks
100s of Encyclopedias and dictionaries with extensive and brief articles on all different topics. Includes the Encyclopedia of Religion, 2005, The Brill Dictionary of Religion, 2006, The Encyclopedia Judaica, 2006, The Encyclopedia of Psychology and Religion, 2010, The New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2003.
Cambridge Histories Online
- Religion. Includes the New Cambridge History of the Bible, The Cambridge History of Judaism, Cambridge History of Christianity, The Cambridge History of Islam, The Cambridge History of Religions in the Ancient World.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
These Bibliographies provide an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, expert recommendations and authoritative commentary on the best works available in the discipline covered, making them particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
Oxford Handbooks Online

Unlimited users.
The Oxford Handbooks contain in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.

Database of Religious History -- DRH
"Online quantitative and qualitative encyclopedia of religious cultural history."
"The DRH is designed to be a community resource for religious historians, a centralized, constantly-updated, open access repository for the state of the art in scholarly opinion on religious history. Its minimal gatekeeping also facilitates broad reach and inclusiveness: only qualified experts can contribute, but they can volunteer themselves from anywhere in the world, rather than having to be known to and selected by a single editor or small group of editors. The result should be a much more comprehensive and diverse snapshot of scholarly opinion in any given field."

Encyclopedia of Religion in America
Call Number: PCL Stacks BL 2520 E52 2010, v.1-4, Lib Use Only

ISBN: 9780872895805
Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd edit. by Lindsay Jones, ed. in chief
Call Number: PCL Stacks BL 31 E46 2005 v.1-15 Lib. Use Only

ISBN: 0028657330

Publication Date: 2005

EID login required

Email Me

Contact:

512 495 4254

Subjects: Anthropology, Archaeology, Classics, Dutch Literature, Folklore, Germanic Studies, Greek and Latin Language and Literature, Medieval and Renaissance Studies, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Scandinavian