LibGuides: Religious Studies: Databases for articles, books

Top databases

ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of articles and books to religious, theological and related scholarship. Covers over 1,380 journal titles internationally, as well as 13,000 multi-authored books and reviews.
Updated twice per year. Comprehensive index to religious, theological and related scholarship covering over 1,380 journal titles internationally, as well as 13,000 multi-authored books and reviews. There are a total of over 847,000 citations. Full text is available from more than seventy journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States. Coverage is comprehensive back to 1949, and includes earlier data for the Methodist Reviews Index.
Access to full text portion of this resource is funded by the the Louise Farmer Boyer Chair in Biblical Studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
multi-disciplinary full text database of articles, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.

RelBib: Bibliography of the Study of Religion
"RelBib is a comprehensive online bibliography for the study of religion. It is available to interested users free of charge (Open Access), worldwide and without login. RelBib is published by Tübingen University Library and its content is supervised by the Subject Information Service for Study of Religion (FID Religionswissenschaft). ... Content includes monographs ("books"), articles and reviews from more than 200 journals of the study of religion, OA electronic journals and digital content, databases, weblogs etc. relevant to the study of religion.
Thematically, the entire range of research literature on religion in - ideally - all languages is indexed in RelBib. Where possible, overlapping fields with other subjects are represented, too."

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required

Librarian

Shiela Winchester

Email Me

Contact:

512 495 4254

Subjects: Anthropology, Archaeology, Classics, Dutch Literature, Folklore, Germanic Studies, Greek and Latin Language and Literature, Medieval and Renaissance Studies, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Scandinavian