Updated monthly. Covers North American scholarship on Eastern Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. It contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications.
The EBSEES (European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies) covers European scholarship on Eastern Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. It contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications.
Database updates ended in December 2007. The end date for each country’s contribution varies.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Contains all published issues of Pravda between 1912 to present. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Pravda originated as an underground daily workers’ newspaper, and soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. Today, Pravda still remains the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation. This database features full page-level digitization, complete original graphics, and searchable text.
The Pravda Ukrainy Digital Archive contains all obtainable published issues of the newspaper from 1938 to 2014, totaling over 72,000 pages. The archive offers scholars the most comprehensive collection available for this title, and features full page-level digitization, complete original graphics, and searchable text.
Digital archive of Iskusstvo kino, the leading journal of Russian cinema critics. Publishes reviews of contemporary Russian and foreign movies, articles on history and theory of Russian and world cinema as well as general essays on Russian culture and arts. Also includes digital archives of Proletarskoe kino (1931-1932) and Sovetskoe kino (1933-1935).
Comprising five titles and more than 50,000 pages, the Soviet-Era Ukrainian Newspapers collection includes national newspapers from three cities (Kyiv, Kharkiv, and Lviv), covering the early Soviet era of Ukraine’s history. These titles offer granular insight into important events in Ukraine’s history, including the Ukrainian War of Independence and the Holodomor. The collection includes newspapers in both Ukrainian and Russian.
Part of the Global Press Archive initiative. Open Access to this collection is made possible through the generous support of the Center for Research Libraries and its member institutions.
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
RAND is a nonprofit public policy research institution. It was established after World War II to study national security. In the 1960s it added domestic policy problems to its research agenda. Current areas of research and analysis include national defense, education and training, health care, criminal and civil justice, labor and population, science and technology, community development, international relations, and regional studies. This searchable archive includes more than 17,000 titles dating back to 1948. Some RAND documents are not included in this database. Search the Library Catalog or ask library staff for assistance to locate these.
Updated regularly. Online versions of 101 publications, reports and data sets released by the Russian State Statistics Committee and the Commonwealth of Independent States Statistical Committee. Includes regional and national statistics on demographics, labor, public health, education, tourism, transportation, industry, agriculture, and other socioeconomic topics. Content primarily in Russian; some English.
All tables are provided in HTML and can be easily downloaded into Excel.
Access to this resource is partially funded by the Center for Russian, East European & Eurasian Studies.
Updated quarterly. An extensive collection of data about global development. Provides more than 550 times series covering demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources and environmental topics for more than 200 countries and 18 country groups. You can access the data through the dataBank, as an ebook, or in Excel or CSV formats.
Contains materials provided to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). The reports are full text, English translations of foreign news sources and information. Many of the materials are copyrighted. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources. Compiled from thousands of worldwide media sources.
Updated regularly. Free access to more than 7,000 indicators from over 20 datasets on world development, including World Development Indicators and Global Development Finance. Dates of coverage begin in 1960 but vary by dataset and country. You can create reports with tables, charts, and maps and export the results in standard formats.
Updated daily. An online collection of more than 130,000 World Bank documents and publications. Browsing or searching provides access to the documents in both text and downloadable PDF format.
The World Bank is one of the United Nations' specialized agencies, and is made up of 187 member countries. All World Bank publications and research working papers are now assigned with DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers).
Updated annually. Provides a comprehensive view of prospects from the global economy along with the implications for developing countries' external finance. Presents detailed data for 128 countries that report public and publicly guaranteed debt under the World Bank Debtor Reporting System. You can access the data through the dataBank, as an ebook, or in Excel or CSV formats.
Digital archive of Iskusstvo kino, the leading journal of Russian cinema critics. Publishes reviews of contemporary Russian and foreign movies, articles on history and theory of Russian and world cinema as well as general essays on Russian culture and arts. Also includes digital archives of Proletarskoe kino (1931-1932) and Sovetskoe kino (1933-1935).
Includes Soviet film magazines and newspapers from 1918 through 1942, as well as film periodicals from the 1920s and 1930s. Features detailed coverage of the industry, both in the USSR and abroad, in addition to advertisements for western films playing on Soviet screens, newspapers that covered day-to-day production at Soviet film studios, annotated lists of films that were prohibited or allowed for screening, and instructions and other regulations governing Soviet cinematography. Also contains articles by leading Soviet directors, as well as members of the avant-garde LEF, leading authors, and philologists.
Note: Not compatible with all web browsers. For best results use Chrome, Edge, or Firefox.
Contains materials providing information on the activities of the Soviet film company Sovkino and its relations with various other companies in the film industry, both in the Soviet Union and abroad, between 1923 and 1935.
The documents in this collection cover the period when state monopoly control over the Soviet cinema industry - production, distribution and exhibition - was being established. They include minutes of board meetings and discussions of the major issues confronting the medium during a crucial period in its development.
The original documents are housed at the Russian State Archive of Literature and Art (RGALI).
Note: Not compatible with all web browsers. For best results use Chrome, Edge, or Firefox.
This streaming service has a catalog of over 30,000 titles covering various educational topics and feature films for some 800 producers including Criterion, Documentary Educational Resources, New Day Films, Media Education, California Newsreel, PBS and others.
Titles streamed by Kanopy are available either directly from the library catalog or from the UT Kanopy interface linked above. Some titles on the UT Kanopy interface are not immediately available to UT community for streaming. Those titles for which we do not hold streaming rights could be requested by filling in a request form. This form would appear on your screen and forwarded to a staff member for consideration. Given our limited funds, we emphasize study and research needs when making purchase decisions.
Explores the ways that editorial content (from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials) is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. Addresses topics in three broad categories: (1) the spectrum of media (newspapers, magazines, television, cable, radio, books, advertising, movies, videos, tapes and CDs, and online) and the status of the media in countries around the globe; (2) the development and use of communications technology, from the telephone and telegraph to computers and facsimile to fiber optics and satellites; (3) concepts that regulate the content and flow of information, such as censorship, copyright, and libel.
1929 - present (full text varies by title). Unlimited users.
The collection includes over 600 full-text journals, 200 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images. Provides the most up-to-date coverage of fine and decorative arts, commercial art, architecture, archaeology, design, and museum studies. An ideal tool for art historians, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.
Contains over 500,000 article citations from more than 345 periodicals covnering theyears 1972 to present.
Treasures from Film Archives
Contains credits and holdings information about the silent-era film holdings of film archives from around the world, with brief identification information on over 40,500 works.
Documentation Collections
Detailed information about the documentation collections of the world's foremost film archives, libraries, and educational institutions.
FIAF Members' Publications
The FIAF Members' Publications search allows you to find detailed information on books, pamphlets, programmes, and other materials published since 1966 by FIAF archives.
Search this database along with its two companion databases (American Film Institute Catalog and Film Index International) at the Screen Studies Collection.
Updated regularly. Provides indexing of over 125,000 films. Coverage starts with the first silent movies and continues until the present day. Includes biographical information for more than 800,000 personalities. Also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists.
Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute (bfi), the database is based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT) database collated by the bfi over the past 70 years.
Search this database along with its two companion databases (AFI (American Film Institute) Catalog and FIAF Index to Film Periodicals) at the Screen Studies Collection.
