LibGuides: Texas Architects and Architecture: Newspapers

Newspapers

Search the newspaper databases for information about architects, buildings, and cities!

Austin American Statesman (Historical) This link opens in a new window Provides full text and full image articles with digital reproductions of every page, every article and every issue in PDF format. As the leading newspaper in the capital of Texas, the Historical Austin American Statesman provides researchers with unique insights into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of this important state, as well as the southwest U.S. from the late 19th through the 20th century. The paper has strong central Texas coverage, especially for political reporting. (The Austin History Center maintains a paper index to earlier years.)
Provides full text and full image articles with digital reproductions of every page, every article and every issue in PDF format. As the leading newspaper in the capital of Texas, the Historical Austin American Statesman provides researchers with unique insights into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of this important state, as well as the southwest U.S. from the late 19th through the 20th century. The paper has strong central Texas coverage, especially for political reporting.
More recent issues are available in LexisNexis Academic, Factiva and Library PressDisplay.
Daily Texan - Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window 1900 - 2019. Unlimited.*Available on campus only*
Digitized copies and content of the Daily Texan.
Dallas Morning News (Historical) This link opens in a new window 1885 - 1984. Unlimited users.
Provides comprehensive coverage for one of the largest daily newspapers in Texas. Accessible by keyword and date searching. Documents major events in Texas, the United States, and the world, providing valuable primary source information. Includes classified and display advertising, photos and graphics.
Early American Imprints This link opens in a new window
Updated regularly. Contains the full text of all known existing books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in the United States (or British American colonies prior to Independence) from 1639 through 1800. Based on the renowned bibliography by Charles Evans, every nonserial item listed in Evans is reproduced and an additional 1100 titles from Bristol's supplement to Evans is also included.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Texas Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Digitized copies and content of Texas newspapers, including The Austin Daily Texan (1900-2019), Galveston Daily News (1865-2017), San Antonio Express (1865-1977), San Antonio Light (1883-1977) and hundreds of other Texas newspapers.

Trade Publications

Southern Architect and Building News
Call Number: Architecture and Planning Library, Special Collections
SABN was the oldest trade publication in the South, published from late 19th century to 1932. Texas does feature prominently with an emphasis on Dallas and Galveston. Currently, the publication is not indexed.
Southern Architect and Building News (digitized content)
The Western Architect
Call Number: Architecture and Planning Library, Special Collections
Select volumes are also available through the Hathi Trust.

The Western Architect, Hathi Trust