While these resources are not specific to Texas, they may be helpful in locating photographs and drawings of Texas architecture:
ARTstorThis link opens in a new windowDates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Comprised of over 2.5 million digital images of visual material encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures. Focuses on, but is not limited to, the arts. Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture. Designed to be used by researchers in fields that do not traditionally use images as well as by art historians.
In order to take advantage of all the features of the site, you must register or log in with the service. The registration and login links are visible once you enter the database.
DASE is a web-based repository for digital images, sound, video and documents. Material on this site may be used for educational purposes by current faculty, students, and staff of the University of Texas at Austin. Use of these materials and resources is restricted by applicable license agreements and copyright law.
Updated regularly. The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections are among the largest and most heavily used in the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress. Since 2000, documentation from the Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS) has been added to the holdings. The collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes. This online presentation of the HABS/HAER/HALS collections includes digitized images of measured drawings, black-and-white photographs, color transparencies, photo captions, written history pages, and supplemental materials.
Documenting the greatness of everyday architecture. Mission: We photographically document and archive buildings and sites in Texas and beyond, focusing on what we refer to as underrated and lesser celebrated architecture. We promote education and activism for present and future preservation and aim to increase awareness of sites and their history.
Mission: We photographically document and archive buildings and sites in Texas and beyond, focusing on what we refer to as underrated and lesser celebrated architecture. We promote education and activism for present and future preservation and aim to increase awareness of sites and their history.