LibGuides: Early Christianity: Journals

Finding Journal Articles

Vigiliae Christianae; a review of early Christian life and language
Call Number: BR 66 V5

Publication Date: 1947-2009

This journal, published five times a year, “contains articles and short notices of an historical and cultural, linguistic or philological nature on Early Christian literature posterior to the New Testament in the widest sense of the word, as well as on Christian epigraphy and archaeology” (verso). Each issue contains several peer-reviewed articles as well as signed book reviews and a list of books received. Articles are mainly in English but also in other European languages. Each article includes an abstract and list of keywords in English as well as extensive footnotes. There is minimal advertising, mainly of other Brill publications. While Vigiliae Christianae does not publish as many articles related to patristic exegesis as JECS, it has a more international scope and is useful for keeping up with research in patristics, especially outside the English-speaking world.

Annotation provided by Juliet Crawford Schwab.

Vigiliae christianae
Publication Date: 1947-present
Journal of early christian studies
Publication Date: 1993 to present

Academic Search Complete
Année Philologique
Unlimited users.
Updated annually. Corresponds to the printed L'Annee Philologique, the international critical and analytical bibliography of ancient Greek and Latin languages and literatures and classical studies. Provides 350,000 bibliographic records for the years 1949 to the present, with 12,500 new records added each year. The international offices analyze 1,500 periodicals each year as well as 500 articles in collections and conference papers.
ATLA Religion Database
Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Comprehensive index to religious, theological and related scholarship covering over 1,380 journal titles internationally, as well as 13,000 multi-authored books and reviews. There are a total of over 847,000 citations. Full text is available from more than seventy journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States. Coverage is comprehensive back to 1949, and includes earlier data for the Methodist Reviews Index.
FRANCIS & PASCAL
Unlimited users.
FRANCIS covers a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities and social sciences from 1972-2015. It is strong in religion, the history of art, and literature (with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature). PASCAL covers the fields of science, technology, and medicine from 1984-2015. Searching by classification is based on the Pascal and Francis classification schemes.
JSTOR
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Religion & Philosophy Collection
Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the database. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.