The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church by F. L. Cross (Editor); E. A. Livingstone (Editor)Uniquely authoritative and wide-ranging in its scope, The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church is the indispensable one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Christian Church. It contains over 6,000 cross-referenced A-Z entries, and offers unrivaled coverage of all aspects of this vast and often complex subject, from theology; churches and denominations; patristic scholarship; and the bible; to the church calendar and its organisation; popes; archbishops; saints; and mystics. In this revision, innumerable small changes have been made to take into account shifts in scholarly opinion, recent developments, such as the Church of England's new prayer book (Common Worship), RC canonisations, ecumenical advances and mergers and, where possible, statistics. Established since its first appearance in 1957 as an essential resource for ordinands, clergy and members of religious orders, The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church is an invaluable tool for academics, teachers, and students of church history and theology, as well as for the general reader.
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity by Everett Ferguson (Editor); Frederick W. Norris (Editor); Michael P. McHugh (Editor)Entries are kept as nontechnical as possible (definitions are given where applicable) and offer such items as subject, antecedents, chronological or topical development within early Christianity, and a list of the main patristic sources. Remarkably successful in its aim to be comprehensive for the period, the book ranges from the life of Jesus to the seventh century, although a few modern scholars, institutes, journals, etc., important to the field are included. Although the Bible is treated only in relation to its use in post-biblical development, that coverage has been expanded, as has coverage of the extension of Christianity into the East; historical context has been strengthened as well. This substantive reference work will continue to appeal to general readers and students as well as specialists.
Call Number: BR 162.2 E53 1997
Publication Date: 1997
Dictionary of Early Christian Literature by Siegmar Doepp; Wilhelm Geerlings (Editor); Matthew O'Connell (Translator)The long-awaited successor to Berthold Altaner's Patrologie handbook, the Dictionary of Early Christian Literature presents the life and work of Chrisitan authors up to the eighth century and an assessment of their lasting influence on the Christian tradition. The Dictionary offers complete and precise information as well as an updated bibliography in an easy-to-use alphabetical arrangement. Articles on authors provide a brief description of their lives, a presentation of their works, and an assessment of their invluence on the Christian tradition. Other articles deal with types of works and their particular characteristics. Despite the wealth of articles, movements and developments within the centuries can be easily grasped, providing valuable insight into the formation of the Christian tradition as we understand it today.
Encyclopedia of the Early Church by Angelo Di Berardino (Editor); Adrian Walford (Translator); W. H. C. Frend (Foreword by)The Encyclopedia of the Early Church is a two-volume reference work providing concise and precise information on all topics concerning the first eight centuries of Christianity. Valuable to historians, archaeologists, philosophers, and philologists as well as theologians, this work extends the knowledge of how Christianity evolved to become the most important influence in the history of Western civilization. Tracing the growth of the church from its tiny beginnings in an upper room to its dominance of Europe, western Asia, and northern Africa in the eighth century, scholars from many disciplines produced articles ranging from a few sentences to ten thousand words on all the major and most of the minor people, works, ideas, and issues of the formative period of Christianity. The first major encyclopedia to cover the life, thought, and growth of Christianity, this work offers full treatment of doctrines, creeds, and heresies, of iconography and art history, of archaeology and geography, and of monasticism and asceticism.
Call Number: BR 66.5 D5813 1992
Publication Date: 1992
Harpercollins Bible Dictionary by Mark Allan Powell; HarperCollins Publishers Ltd. Staff (Contribution by)The HarperCollins Bible Dictionary, revised and updated edition, is the most complete, up-to-date, and accessible guide for the study of the Bible available today. With more than 4,000 lively, informative, and reader-friendly entries, this essential reference book provides all the information you need to understand the Bible. Whether you are a pastor, layperson, or a student of scripture, you will find every important name, place, and subject that makes Bible study come to life. From Aaron to Zurishaddai, here are all the people, events, and ideas of biblical times. This third edition continues in the rich tradition of its predecessors but has been thoroughly updated and revised by a new editorial team under the direction of the premier international scholarly body, the Society of Biblical Literature (SBL). More than half the articles in this book are new, and several dozen charts and tables have also been added as well as updates on recent archaeological discoveries. Over 200 contributors to the HarperCollins Bible Dictionary, from a diverse group of authorities, represent an ecumenical and non-biased viewpoint of scripture from different positions--Roman Catholic, Jewish, mainline Protestant, and evangelical. Filled with explanations of biblical beliefs, language, and insights into the culture and customs of the people who lived in biblical times, this resource will help anyone interested in scripture to more fully appreciate the meaning and message of the Bible.
Call Number: BS 440 H235 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Biblia Patristica by J. Allenbach ... [et al.].This is a 7-volume work in French. The index is organized in the order of the Biblical books, starting with Genesis, and ending with Revelation (indicated as AP for Apocalypse of John). The organization is by columns: first column indicates the book, second the chapter, third is the verses, 4th is the Patristic author who has cited this verse, 5th is the work in which it is cited, and 6th through 10th cover the book (volume), chapter, paragraph, page and line. The Patristic writers indexed in each volume are grouped chronologically – that is, Vol. 1 covers earliest writings from the Patristic period, Vol. 2 covers next earliest writings, and so on. Abbreviations are used for the texts and collections of texts, and a list of abbreviations is before the actual index begins. This is an indispensable tool for Patristic studies
Call Number: BR 66.5 U53 1975
Publication Date: 1975
Clavis Patrum GraecorumCovers the Greek Fathers up to John of Damascus (d. ca. 749), including the literature of the Church Councils and catenae. Lists known works by author with references to published texts and secondary literature. Indexes by book of the Bible and topic are included. This and the Clavis Patrum Latinorum serve as the foundational documents for the Greek and Latin Texts published in the series Corpus Christianorum.
Call Number: BR 60 A61 C53
Publication Date: 1974
Clavis Patrum Latinorum by E. DekkersIn this third edition the scholar will find a list, which is as exhaustive as possible, of all the Christian Latin texts from Tertullian in the 2nd century to Bede, who died in 735. Each work, each sermon, each letter, each poem is properly identified in the 2,348 entries, many of which are further subdivided into numerous subsections: the best editions are noted, as are the means to improve them, the newly-found manscripts, the studies on the textual transmission or on the language, and so on. An expanded body of Concordances is provided. These provide correspondences between the Clavis numbers and the numbering or pagination of seventeen collections or lists of Latin writings. The Clavis numbering is of course the basis for the publishing programme of the Corpus Christianorum Series Latina and more recently serves as a crucial reference tool in the electronic Library of Latin Texts (CLCLT).
Call Number: BR 60 I4852 INDEX
Publication Date: 1995
The Early Christian Book by William E. Klingshirn; Linda SafranFrom the very beginning, Christianity was a religion of books - a lived, but also a written faith. The essays in this collection focus on the ways in which books were produced, used, treasured, and conceptualized in the early Christian centuries (AD 100-600). During this crucial period, just after the New Testament writings were composed, Christianity grew from the religion of a tiny minority in the eastern Roman Empire to the religion of the empire itself, and beyond. To no small extent, this success was based on the power of its books. Written by experts in the field, the essays in this volume examine the early Christian book from a wide range of disciplines: religion, art history, history, Near Eastern studies, and classics. Topics include theories of the book, book production and use, books as sacred objects, and problems of gender, authorship, and authority. readers into the entire bookish world of early Christianity: a world of writing and reading practices, of copying and exchanging texts, of persuading and debating with books, and of representing holiness and power through codices of the law, the scriptures, and the lives of the saints. Essays cover a wide geographical range and discuss texts written all across the Mediterranean world - in Greek, Latin, Coptic, Syriac, and Hebrew. All ancient texts are translated into English, some for the first time. Intended for general readers, students, and scholars alike - anyone with a serious interest in early Christianity - this work brings together exciting currents of new research. It also opens up fresh questions and lines of inquiry in the study of this perennially important and fascinating subject. An introduction by Philip Rousseau provides a valuable overview, followed by essays written by Daniel Boyarin, Catherine Burris, Catherine Chin, Gillian Clark, Catherine Conybeare, Kim Haines-Eitzen, Caroline Humfress, Chrysi Kotsifou, John Lowden, Claudia Rapp, Daniel Sarefield, and Mark Vessey.