Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Fine Arts Library Archival and Special Collections

Oscar G. Brockett Archive

Oscar G. Brockett Archive

About the Collection

In 2011, Francesca L. Brockett (his daughter) donated his papers, both professional and personal, to the Fine Arts Library. The collection contains material related to Brockett's professional life as a professor, dean, and writer including drafts and research for his books, papers, and plays, as well as teaching materials, theatrical publications, conference materials, and correspondence. There are also materials related to his early life and education, travel ephemera, playbills and programs, and financial and personal records. There is a small collection of papers that belonged to his wife Lenyth, with whom he collaborated on several projects and a collection of financial and personal records that belonged to Mark Pape, a friend and colleague (Oscar was the executor of his estate). Finally, there are several photo albums and scrapbooks which contain photos of Oscar's family and document his travels worldwide to such places as Europe, Africa, and Southeast Asia.

Access to this collection is available upon request. For information, please contact:

Beth Kerr, Theatre and Dance Librarian

DFA 3.212

Fine Arts Library

The University of Texas at Austin

email: beth@austin.utexas.edu

phone: 512.495.4482

Biography

Oscar G. Brockett, professor emeritus and renowned theatre historian, came to University of Texas at Austin in 1978 as the dean of the College of Fine Arts. He went on to teach for 28 years as part of the Theatre and Dance department from 1980 until his retirement in 2006. He wrote numerous books on theatre history, including The History of Theatre , the top-ranked and highest-selling theatre history text of the 20th century. He was active in many national educational theatre organizations, and received numerous awards for excellence in teaching and research in theatre history. In 2001, the College of Fine Arts at UT renamed the Winship Drama Building Theatre room and formally dedicated it as the "Oscar G. Brockett Theatre". In addition, in recognition of Oscar's service to the UT community, the Oscar G. Brockett Center for Theatre History and Criticism was established as part of the Theatre and Dance department and serves the student body through initiatives in scholarship, education, and arts in the community.

Finding Aid (PDF)

Fine Arts Library Hours

Today's hours:

Loading

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.