LibGuides: American Studies: Digital Collections

Digital Collections

Ad* Access
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
Adler Hip Hop Archive
The Adler Hip Hop Archive contains thousands of newspaper and magazine articles, recording industry press releases and artist bios, correspondence, photographs, posters, flyers, advertising, and other documents.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting
More than 7,000 historic public radio and television programs are now available for streaming and more content will be added periodically.
American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
Currently this Library of Congress site includes more than 9 million digital items from more than 100 collections on subjects ranging from African-American political pamphlets to California folk music, from baseball to the Civil War.
Documenting the American South
Access texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
Documenting White Supremacy and its Opponents
bulk of coverage: 1920-1929
more...less...
The Documenting White Supremacy and Its Opponents collection includes papers promoting and opposing white supremacy, published mainly in the 1920s. It brings together for the first time local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the US. It also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by American Black, Catholic, and Jewish communities.
Library of Congress: Baseball Cards
2,100 early baseball cards dating from 1887 to 1914.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
550,000 images relevant to both U.S. and world history, from the earliest days of print culture to the present. These images consist primarily of historical maps, posters, prints and photographs, illuminated manuscript pages, and images drawn from published books.
Prelinger Archives
Prelinger Archives holds ~5,000 digitized and videotape titles (all originally derived from film) and a large collection of home movies, amateur and industrial films acquired since 2002. Its goal remains to collect, preserve, and facilitate access to films of historic significance that haven't been collected elsewhere.
Pulitzer Prize Archive
The Pulitzer Prize Archive presents the history of this award from its beginnings to the present: In parts A to E the awarding of the prize in each category is documented, commented and arranged chronologically. Part F covers the history of the prize biographically and bibliographically. Part G provides the background to the decisions.
UCSB Library: Cylinder Audio Archive
Online repository for thousands of cylinder recordings. Includes an information page and details on each recording.

Highlighted Collection: UT Austin's Briscoe Center

Briscoe Center Digital Collections
Archival material digitized from the Briscoe Center showcases key themes in Texas and U.S. History, including the American South, Civil Rights and Social Justice, Political History, Music and Entertainment History, Photography and The University of Texas History (among other themes!).