LibGuides: Cite your Sources: Engineering Resources: Style Guides

Style Guides - Recommended Resources

Websites Offering Help with Writing and Citing:

Cite Source - Trinity College Library (includes APA, ACS, MLA, Chicago, ASA, and APSA)
Purdue Owl - (includes APA, Chicago, and MLA)
UW-Madison Writing Center Writer's handbook (includes APA, IEEE,& CSE)
Zoterobib - is a site that can either:
- find a citation from a number such as a DOI
- or create a citation from information you enter
  - with many available styles

Style Guides:

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Now in the newest, 18th, edition.
The Chicago Manual of Style Online (CMS) corresponds to the full-text of the printed Chicago Manual of Style. The database covers a variety of topics from manuscript preparation and publication to grammar, usage, documentation and citation guidelines. Additional topics include how to handle illustrations, quotations, foreign phrases, and mathematics in text. Also included is a section on rights and permissions. The database serves as a complete handbook of editing. Two (selectable) complete editions are included in the online database, the 17th edition originally published in 2017, and the 18th edition originally published in 2024.

Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
Call Number: e-book and Z 253 U69 2017 PCL Stacks
ISBN: 022628705X
Publication Date: 2017
Soon to be available in the new edition.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF 76.7 P83 2020 PCL & Life Science
ISBN: 9781433832161
Publication Date: 2019
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style.
Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian; Joseph Bizup (Revised by); Wayne C. Booth (Revised by); Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); William T. FitzGerald (Revised by); University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by)
Call Number: LB 2369 T8 2018 PCL Check-out Desk & PCL Stacks
ISBN: 022649442X
Publication Date: 2018
Turabian is the student-friendly version of the "Chicago Manual of Style." Also provides guidance for the less-experienced writer.
Scientific Style and Format by Council of Science Editors
Call Number: T 11 S386 2014 Geology & Marine Science Reference
ISBN: 0226116492
Publication Date: 2014
Now in the 9th edition but this 8th edition is the most recent available in the Libraries.
AMA Manual of Style by JAMA Network Editors
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 0190246553
Publication Date: 2020
From the American Medical Association. Updated to include current ethical considerations and language sensibilities.

IEEE Reference Guide
See here for all of the IEEE guidelines for authors. The "IEEE Reference Guide" is specifically here: https://journals.ieeeauthorcenter.ieee.org/wp-content/uploads/sites/7/IEEE_Reference_Guide.pdf
The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
From the American Chemical Society.
Society of Petroleum Engineers Style Guide
Guidelines for SPE (Society of Petroleum Engineers) style.

A note on MLA

The MLA style is not usually a first choice for engineering but if you are familiar with the style and have the okay to use it, this may be your preference:

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB 2369 G53 2016 PCL Check Out Desk & PCL Stacks
ISBN: 1603293515
Publication Date: 2021
The MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the authorized guide to MLA style.