LibGuides: E 314: E 314J: The Movie Musical

Library Resources for E 314J: The Movie Musical

Below are a selection of recommended library research tools for E 314J: The Movie Musical, taught by I.B. Hopkins. Librarians Gina Bastone & Ana Rico will cover some of these tools during your class visit to the PCL on Thursday, Feb. 27. Remember – you can contact Gina or Ana any time for assistance using these tools!

Find Books & Ebooks

Library Catalog
Use the Library Catalog to search for print books across UT's many libraries (including the PCL and Fine Arts Library). You can also use the catalog to find ebooks.
We will use the catalog during your visit to the PCL on Feb. 27.
How to Find Books at UT
A step-by-step guide to finding books and ebooks from our libraries.

Find Scholarly Journal Articles & Other Scholarly Sources

These databases are great tools for finding scholarly journal articles, scholarly books, and dissertations. Refer back to the Types of Sources page if you need a refresher on these scholarly publications.

MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is one of the top search tools for literary studies, and it's a key resource for this class. This video tutorial explains how to best utilize the MLA for your research. Note: You are required to watch a video tutorial on how to use MLA.
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A massive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly articles and books, going back to the 19th century. Note that JSTOR is good for older journal articles.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Similar to MLA, this database is a go-to resource for scholarly sources on theater, including musical theater and musical adaptations.
Updated regularly. Contains full text for more than 100 journal titles and citations for more than 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Includes all of the content available in the 14 volume print International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance, published by the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College.