Find Articles and News Sources - UGS 302: Utopia and Dystopia in American Lit - Murphy - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Find Articles on a Topic

If you don't have a specific article already in mind and just need items for your topic, think about:

What kind of information you need on your topic,
Who would write about it,
Where those articles would be published.

Newspapers and popular magazines are good sources for current events and controversies. Scholarly journals publish articles reporting research results or reviewing existing research findings.

Example: You are writing a paper about immigration debates in America. You want to explore current news coverage and find personal testimonies from immigrants in America.

What you need:	Who would write it:	Where it would be published:
current news coverage on immigration debates	Journalists	news magazines, newspapers, podcasts
Personal stories from immigrants	Journalists, activists, individuals	Popular magazines, news magazines, radio interviews

Find a Database

Databases at UT cover a wide range of subjects and contain a wide range of materials, including news articles, scholarly articles, images, videos, etc.

You can search in databases that are multidisciplinary (meaning it contains different types of materials on different subject areas) or subject-specific (meaning it covers one subject area, like history).

Google News
Good for current news especially

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contains newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, political transcripts.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Effective January 1, 2018, Nexis Uni™ replaces LexisNexis Academic.
Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press in America.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press in America. Includes a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, such as ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, and public policy.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America (some international coverage).
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America (some international coverage). Includes more than 400,000 full-text articles from 200 publications.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with scholarly and popular articles
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.

More Newspaper Databases
See every newspaper database the UT Libraries subscribe to (includes historical)

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 20 national (U.S.) & international newspapers
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides a complete digital edition of The Times (London).
Provides a complete digital edition of The Times (London). Includes keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required