Human Rights

Provides access to primary and secondary materials (including 75,000 pages of text and 150 hours of video) on human rights issues in the 20th and early 21st centuries in Africa, Asia, Europe, United States, and Latin America. Subject coverage includes Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, Sierra Leone, and dirty wars in Latin America.

Updated regularly. Provides free access to the full text of over 60,000 documents, including major human rights treaties and international instruments, United Nations documents, research guides on specific human rights topics, and resources for researching conditions in particular countries and regions of the world. Also includes links to human rights resources on more than 4,000 other websites.

Updated monthly. Bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Covers selected journal articles, books, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiche. More than 1,600 journals and over 8,000 monographs are indexed each year. Includes documents published worldwide in any of six languages: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The subject headings and abstracts are in English.

The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. At completion of this conversion, the PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records.

Provides a resource for conducting research and analysis on various forms of social and political unrest in Africa. Includes over 6,000 social conflict events across Africa from 1990 to 2009, including riots, strikes, protests, coups, and communal violence. By tracking forms of conflict not covered in traditional datasets on civil and interstate war, SCAD gives policymakers and researchers new tools to analyze conflict patterns.

Updated daily. Provides indexing of many Congressional publications, including Bills, Resolutions, Hearings, Committee Prints, Reports, Documents and Congressional Research Service Reports.

House and Senate Reports and Documents indexed in ProQuest Congressional (1817-1969) are available in full text in the Serial Set database. Our subscription to ProQuest Congressional does not include full text of the Serial Set.

Congressional Hearings after 2013 and House and Senate Documents and Reports indexed in ProQuest Congressional (1995 to present) are available in full text on Govinfo.gov site from the Government Printing Office.

Updated regularly. Provides a comprehensive source of documentary and statistical political information on Latin American politics. Useful for students, academics, policy analysts and government officials.

Updated daily. An online collection of more than 130,000 World Bank documents and publications. Browsing or searching provides access to the documents in both text and downloadable PDF format.

The World Bank is one of the United Nations' specialized agencies, and is made up of 187 member countries. All World Bank publications and research working papers are now assigned with DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers).

A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. Features cross-searchable access to the acclaimed Ethnographic Video Online and Anthropology Online collections and provides anthropologists, sociologists and cultural historians with an expansive and multifaceted survey of the discipline. Researchers can explore a wide range of materials—from documentaries and field notes to written ethnographies and reference works.

Thematic areas include: family and race, material culture, language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, marriage, gender, and family roles.

Updated regularly. Provides access to resources including electronic publications, websites, databases and more covering topics related to child safety, welfare and adoption. Supports professionals working in child abuse prevention and in family support, foster care, and other interrelated fields with information and resources across the full spectrum of child welfare topics to help protect children and strengthen families. Developed through the cooperation of the NCCANCH and the NAIC

Updated regularly. An initiative of CUL's Center for Human Rights Documentation and Research, the Human Rights Web Archive provides access to archived versions of freely available human rights websites created by non-governmental organizations, national human rights institutions, and individuals. Funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.