LibGuides: TC 302: Hunger / Bizer: Finding newspaper and magazine articles

Journalism, reporting

Nexis Uni
Covers most major newspapers in the US and internationally. Covers the last few years best. Need older news? Ask Elise.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
PressReader
only a 90 day archive, but really good for current international news.
Updated daily. Provides a full-color and full-page collection of newspapers from around the world,. Includes over 1000 titles from Europe, Asia, the Middle East, Latin America, and the United States. A 60-day archive is also available to browse by country, language, and newspaper title, and to search full text of articles, photograph captions, and headlines.
Once inside the newspaper, click on a headline to read the article or zoom in to read the article as it appears in print.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Alt-Press Watch
newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press in America.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press in America. Includes a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, such as ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, and public policy.
Alt HealthWatch
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Updated regularly. Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Offers full text articles, from more than 180 international, and often peer reviewed, reports, proceedings, association and consumer newsletters. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990.
Ethnic NewsWatch
newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America (some international coverage).
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America (some international coverage). Includes more than 400,000 full-text articles from 200 publications.

How to search Nexis Uni

Nexis Uni
This screenshot helps you search for news. Use whatever limiters make sense - or none at all.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

The New York Times

The New York Times offers incomparable coverage of national and international news.

As a UT student, you have free unlimited access to the New York Times at nyt.com. This includes Cooking, Games and the Athletic. Your access to nyt is directly through the site and the app, not through our databases, which makes the reading experience easier and more enjoyable.

You may download the nyt app to your phone and access the full subscription.

Being an informed citizen makes doing research in every subject easier, makes you a better communicator and a more empathetic human.

Use this guide to set up your account.