TOOF - H S 378 - Seminar in Health & Society - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Vocational Training Research

Example search strategy to try in databases from Scholarly Articles tab on left:

vocational or technical or professional or job or career

AND training or education or program or certifica* or skills

AND homeless* or housing insecur* or unhoused

Scholarly literature

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
1900 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1895 - present. Unlimited.
In addition to full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Includes indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources.

Policy documents

North American City Reports This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
North American City Reports preserves the full text of surveys, budgets, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, reports, and news from the six hundred largest cities in North America. It includes select materials from hundreds of related agencies and non-governmental organizations. The larger cities are monitored for added items weekly, others monthly.

Voices from the Street
A joint project of the Department of Psychiatry, the Department of Population Health's Center for Community-Driven Initiatives, and the Center for Health Communication.

No Room of Her Own by Desiree Hellegers
Publication Date: 2011
Oral history collection brings together extended interviews with fifteen women.

Use a scoped Google search to limit your results to .org/.gov/.edu websites.

For example, to find governmental websites about alternative medicine, try searching:

homelessness texas site:gov

To find statistics from think tanks about housing and health outcomes, try searching:

housing and health outcomes statistics site:org