LibGuides: UGS 302: What We See, What We Believe / Haghshenas: Find Articles

Find Articles on a Topic

If you don't have a specific article already in mind and just need items for your topic, think about:

What kind of information you need on your topic,
Who would write about it,
Where those articles would be published.

Newspapers and popular magazines are good sources for current events and controversies. Scholarly journals publish articles reporting research results or reviewing existing research findings.

Example: You are writing a paper about female college students with eating disorders. You need information about what researchers have found to be the best treatment options, and information on how women deal with having eating disorders.

What you need:	Who would write it:	Where it would be published:
research findings on treatments of college women with eating disorders	Psychologists, health/medical researchers	Scholarly journals on psychology or health
Personal stories from women who have suffered form eating disorders	Journalists	Popular women's magazines or news magazines

Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
JSTOR
Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Nexis Uni
Provides access to newspapers, interviews, magazines, broadcast transcripts, and more.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
Great place to start for communications and mass media research.
Updated regularly. Provides indexing for some 400 periodicals, including full text for over 200 titles, in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). CommSearch offered bibliographic and keyword references to 26 journals in communication studies, with coverage extending to the inaugural issue of each -- some from as far back 1915. It also included cover-to-cover indices of NCA's six journals (from their first editions to the present), and abstracts from their earliest appearance in NCA journals. Mass Media Articles Index provided citation coverage of over 40,000 articles related to mass media and published in over 60 research journals, as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies.
Film & Television Literature Index
Covers the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Updated monthly. Covers the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Publications include Film Journal International, Journal of British Cinema & Television, Film Criticism, Post Script, Variety, as well as technical publications such as SMPTE. Mirroring the international film & television industries and cultures, FTLI also includes publications such as Cahiers du Cinema, Filmihullu, SegnoCinema, and Kinetoscopio.
PsycINFO (Ebsco)
Great place to start for psychology research.
Updated monthly. Indexes and abstracts over 1,700 sources, including international material selected from periodicals written in over 35 languages. Contains current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present, and adds over 60,000 references annually through monthly updates. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Has over 1.8 million individual records, some dating back to 1887, and includes abstracts from Psychological Abstracts back to 1927, Psychological Bulletin from 1921-1926, and all APA journals and the American Journal of Psychology back to their first issues. Corresponds in part to the print index Psychological Abstracts.

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required