LibGuides: TC 302: Idolatry & Iconoclasm / Peers: Enter the Scholarly Conversation

How to identify experts

When you're choosing a place to search, you have to start by asking, who are the experts on this topic and where would their works be published?

Art Historians and Art Critics

International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Indexes scholarly literature on Western art and is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files.
The database will grow by 18,000 records per year, ensuring unbroken coverage of journals that were indexed in BHA and IBA prior to 2010. The initial data set created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-2009 covers scholarship up to 2009, including retrospective records for material published in previous years, and in some cases the new ProQuest indexing will also cover retrospective years in order to fill gaps in coverage.
Publications covered include at least 500 core journals, with an emphasis on specialist and rare titles that are not covered by other indexes, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues.

Philosophy and Religion

Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
1975 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the database. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.

Multidisciplinary

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Honestly, I found the most non-art discussion about iconoclasm here.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journals from all over the place in a full text search.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Search EVErything?

How much is enough research?

No easy answers here, either. This is a question I get from graduate students.

Here are some ideas for figuring this out:

Lay out your assertions in the paper - how much evidence do you have for each assertion? Do some assertions need more evidence (sometimes you can tell you need more evidence because you have begun to ramble rather than using evidence to back up claims succinctly)? Is anything backed up in a repetitive manner (i.e., 4 sources that say the same thing)?
Lay out the major assertions in your paper and explain them to a friend. Let her ask you questions. Can you answer those questions using evidence? Are there gaps you need to fill? Did you make some leaps?
Visit with me (or any librarian) and/or the Writing Center. We'll sort this out!