Find Information on a Language - Assignment 8 - UGS 303: Threatened Languages - Epps & Woodbury - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Suggested Web Resources

ELAR: Endangered Language Archive
The Endangered Language Archive (ELAR) is a digital repository preserving and publishing endangered language documentation materials from around the world.
The Language Archive
Data Archive about languages worldwide.
The Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America (AILLA)
Archive of materials on indigenous Latin American languages. Includes media.
California Language Archive
Pacific and Regional Archive for Digital Sources in Endangered Cultures
Language archive with materials on over 1000 languages worldwide. Catalog link: https://catalog.paradisec.org.au/
Povos Indigenas Brazil
A source of detailed and mostly up to date information about Brazilian indigenous groups and their languages. Most are authored by scholars who work directly with these groups.
Biblioteca Digital Curt Nimuendajú
(in Portuguese, but references are fully accessible to non-Port speakers). This online database has links to many works on South American languages.
OLAC: Open Language Archives Community
A worldwide virtual library of language resources.

Evaluating Sources for this Assignment

You have to find language preservation and teaching materials. Some of the archives above might have relevant materials for your languages.

Also ask yourself:

How close to native speakers is this material? Can I tell that native speakers worked on it, or at least that linguists worked on it with native speakers?

Is this material specific to my language, rather than a general language learning resource?

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required

What are databases?

This video, from RMIT University, explains what a database is...

Where's the Article?

If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click FIND IT AT UT to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click GET A SCAN to have the article emailed to you. This option will take a few days.