LibGuides: Immigration: Research Centers

Centers Working In the Area Of Immigration

American Immigration Lawyers Association
Center For Immigration Studies The Center for Immigration Studies is an independent, non-partisan, non-profit, research organization. Since our founding in 1985, we have pursued a single mission – providing immigration policymakers, the academic community, news media, and concerned citizens with reliable information about the social, economic, environmental, security, and fiscal consequences of legal and illegal immigration into the United States.
more...less...
Sponsors the Katz Award for Excellence in the Coverage of Immigration.
According to Right Wing Watch, The Center for Immigration Studies is one of the network of anti-immigration groups founded by John Tanton, an activist with white nationalist leanings and a fondness for extreme “population control” measures. Tanton founded CIS in 1985 to “wage a war of ideas” on immigration.
Center For Migration Studies The Center for Migration Studies of New York (CMS) is a think tank and an educational institute devoted to the study of international migration, to the promotion of understanding between immigrants and receiving communities, and to public policies that safeguard the dignity and rights of migrants, refugees and newcomers. CMS was established in 1964 and formally incorporated in 1969 by the Congregation of the Missionaries of St. Charles, Scalabrinians, a community of Catholic priests, nuns and lay people dedicated to serving migrants and refugees throughout the world. CMS is a member of the Scalabrini International Migration Network (SIMN), a global network of migrant shelters, service centers and other institutions along migrant corridors and in border and destination communities.
more...less...
Publisher of "International Migration Review."
Coalition For Comprehensive Immigration Reform The Coalition for Comprehensive Immigration Reform (CCIR), also known as CCIR/NAOC or New American Opportunity Campaign is a non-profit immigrant rights advocacy organization based in Washington, DC, established in 2003 to pass comprehensive immigration reform. It was instrumental in the 2004 Immigrant Workers Freedom Ride, modeled after the Freedom Rides of the Civil Rights Movement and acts as an umbrella organization for a number of national and local immigrant rights organizations for advocacy and coalition building.
Federation For American Immigration Reform FAIR, the Federation for American Immigration Reform is a non-profit, non-partisan organization of concerned individuals who believe that our immigration laws must be reformed to better serve the needs of current and future generations. With a support base that includes nearly 50 private foundations and over 1.3 million diverse members and supporters, FAIR is free of party loyalties and special interest connections. For more than 35 years, FAIR has been leading the call for immigration reform by offering and advocating solutions that help reduce the harmful impact of uncontrolled immigration on national security, jobs, education, health care, and our environment.
more...less...
Another center founded by John Tanton, described by the Southern Poverty Law Center as a white supremacist.
Immigration History Research Center Founded in 1965, the Immigration History Research Center (IHRC) aims to transform the way in which we understand immigration in the past and present. Along with its partner, the IHRC Archives (University Libraries), it is the oldest and largest interdisciplinary research center and archives devoted to preserving and understanding immigrant and refugee life in North America.
more...less...
At the University Of Minnesota.
Immigration Policy Center of the American Immigration Council
Migration Policy Institute The Migration Policy Institute is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank in Washington, DC dedicated to analysis of the movement of people worldwide. MPI provides analysis, development, and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at local, national, and international levels. It aims to meet the demand for pragmatic and thoughtful responses to the challenges and opportunities that large-scale migration, whether voluntary or forced, presents to communities and institutions in an increasingly integrated world.
more...less...
Publisher of "Migration Information Source."
National Immigrant Justice Center Heartland Alliance's National Immigrant Justice Center (NIJC) is dedicated to ensuring human rights protections and access to justice for all immigrants, refugees and asylum seekers. With offices in Chicago, Indiana, and Washington, D.C., NIJC provides direct legal services to and advocates for these populations through policy reform, impact litigation, and public education. Since its founding three decades ago, NIJC has been unique in blending individual client advocacy with broad-based systemic change.
more...less...
Provides links to relevant Executive Orders--http://www.immigrantjustice.org/issues/immigration-executive-orders
No More Deaths No More Deaths is a humanitarian organization based in southern Arizona. We began in 2004 in the form of a coalition of community and faith groups, dedicated to stepping up efforts to stop the deaths of migrants in the desert and to achieving the enactment of a set of Faith-Based Principles for Immigration Reform. We later developed into an autonomous project. Since 2008 we have been an official ministry of the Unitarian Universalist Church of Tucson.
Pew Research Center/Immigration Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
more...less...
also covers Immigration Attitudes and Immigration Trends