Resources for your treasure hunt - UGS 302: Music, Identity and Difference - Seeman - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Find Music and Film

What are these? These library databases are collections of music and film the UT Libraries subscribe to.

How do I access them? Access them through this guide or through the Databases page on the Libraries website. You will need your UTEID since access is limited to students, faculty and staff of UT-Austin.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Provides access to the complete online version of the 10-volume print set of the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music along with associated audio tracks, musical illustrations, photographs, drawings, song texts, score examples, charts, and maps.
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
1879 - present. 8 users.
Updated frequently, Grove Music Online is the world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
This streaming service has a catalog of over 30,000 titles covering various educational topics and feature films for some 800 producers including Criterion, Documentary Educational Resources, New Day Films, Media Education, California Newsreel, PBS and others.
Titles streamed by Kanopy are available either directly from the library catalog or from the UT Kanopy interface linked above. Some titles on the UT Kanopy interface are not immediately available to UT community for streaming. Those titles for which we do not hold streaming rights could be requested by filling in a request form. This form would appear on your screen and forwarded to a staff member for consideration. Given our limited funds, we emphasize study and research needs when making purchase decisions.
Music Online: Listening This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Provides access to a streaming audio collection that supports the teaching and research of music. It currently includes access to over 7 million tracks from almost 70,000 albums, with new titles added each month. Music Online: Listening provides coverage in breadth and depth across all the key musical genres:
- Classical: All major genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde.
- Jazz: All major genres including vocal jazz, bebop, acid jazz, big band, modern jazz, and more.
- World: Music from 169 countries and more than 1,000 cultural groups.
- American: Country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B, and shape note singing.
- Popular: Wide range of popular music from around the world that is not available in our genre-specific collections.
Music Online: Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly until completion. Scheduled to contain 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon. The collection presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. Multiple performances and stagings worldwide of the major operas allow for analysis of stage design, vocal techniques, roles, and musical interpretation across time periods, opera houses, and conductors.
Performances will cover the full range of operatic composition, from the Baroque to the 20th century.
Specially developed controlled vocabularies let users browse by composer, genre, performer, ensemble, time period, and role.
Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Provides a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. Includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. Also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies. Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings.
Information on basic system requirements for both PC and Mac platforms is available on the site.